The New York City St. Patrick’s Day parade has announced the winners of the “Saint Patrick’s Scholars” 2017 college and high school scholarship contest. 

Declan Cole won first place in the high school honors, followed by Gavin Cogan in second and Liam Murphy in third.

Maureen Dunphy Brady took first place college honors, with Thomas McNulty in second place and Paul Li finishing third.

The scholarship program is held annually in memory of two outstanding past parade leaders, Francis P. Beirne and Margaret O’Rourke. Applicants are required to research Irish and Irish American historical topics and submit an essay. 

The essay is reviewed by a panel of judges who are representative of the parade’s main marching groups: the Ancient Order of Hibernians, the Ladies Ancient Order of Hibernians, the United Irish Counties and the Grand Council of United Emerald Societies.

“We thank the panel of judges who gave up their time to review the research papers and especially thank all of the applicants for their submissions,” said Catherine Tully Muscente, co-chair of the program.  “The scholarship program is important as it engages young