President Higgins put into effect a resolution that was passed in the Dáil Éireann over 100 years ago

President Michael D. Higgins and his wife Sabina paid honor to the heroes executed for their involvement in the 1916 Easter Rising on December 18 in Dublin.

Read More: President Higgins on forgiveness and the need to remember our own tragic past

The newly unveiled memorial puts into effect a resolution made by the first Dáil Éireann over 100 years ago.

The minutes of Dáil Éireann, assembled in the Mansion House on August 20, 1919, record the approval of a report recommending, as an anniversary commemoration, that 16 memorial trees be planted in memory of those executed in 1916.

A century later, in a brief ceremony at Áras an Uachtaráin on December 18, President and Sabina Higgins unveiled commemorative plaques with the names of those executed after the 1916 Easter Rising.

Thomas Clarke's memorial (

Thomas Clarke's memorial (

Read More: Irish President criticizes "growing narcissism, aggressive individualism" in New York address

The plaques were installed along 16 birch trees planted by President and Sabina Higgins in the gardens of Áras an Uachtaráin, to mark the Centenary Commemoration of the 1916 Rising

The trees are arranged in a crescent, complementing the nearby “Dearcán na nDaoine” installation, created by artist Rachel Joynt and commissioned by President and Sabina Higgins as part of the State 1916 centenary commemorations.

The seven signatories of the Proclamation of the Republic are in the front row: James Connolly, Patrick Pearse, Joseph Plunkett, Thomas Clarke, Sean McDermott, Thomas McDonagh, and Eamonn Ceannt.

The nine others executed form a semi-circle behind them: Michael Mallin, Willie Pearse, Edward Daly, Michael O’Hanrahan, John McBride, Sean Heuston, Con Colbert, Thomas Kent, and Roger Casement.

Read More: Michael D. Higgins and Prince Charles named co-patrons of Irish Studies program

You can watch commemoration here: