Intermediate Football: .
Armagh 1-13 Astoria Gaels 0-05

Armagh had a very easy win over Astoria when they completely overrun their opponents in a brilliant second half. The teams were tied at four at the break with Alan Hearty grabbing three from frees for Armagh while Shane Sweeny had a brace for Astoria. After the teams swapped points to open the second half Armagh ran off 1-08 without reply with the goal on twenty minutes an excellent score from Captain Kevin McGeeney.

With seven different scorers Armagh had far too many weapons for Astoria and in the second half they also had the luxury of 8 wides to go with ten from the first to show their complete dominance. The goal was a very well worked score with Moynagh, John McGeeney and McKeever all involved before Kevin McGeeney finished the move with a right foot shot to the net.

Astoria Gaels 1 Dave Brown 2 Ray Carroll 3 Alan Foley  4 Ger O’Brian 5 Damien Ward 6 Sean Kelly (0-01) 7 Eoghan Kyne 8 Shane Sweeney (0-03)9 Michael Coyle 10 JP Barry 11 Pa Ryan12 Sam Yore 13 Ciaran Cull 14 Derek McKenna 15 Nester Allen (0-01)

Armagh 1 Donal Hearty 2 Eoghan McParland 3 Collie Fearan 4 Patsy Martin 5 Fred Gannon (0-02)6 Sean Kelly 7 Caolan Short 8 Kevin McGeeney (1-01)9 John McGeeney (0-02) 10 Shane McKeever (0-01)11 James Moynagh (0-02)12 Aiden Morton 13 Peter Hazer (0-02)14 Alan Hearty (0-03)15 Shane McKenna Subs Mike McCarthy

Man of the Match Kevin McGeeney (Armagh)

Referee Dave Ryan

Intermediate Football
Dublin 1-08 Kerry 0-10

Dublin qualified for the final of the John Brady Cup final versus Armagh next week with a nail biting one point win over Kerry.

The first half was very even for twenty minutes with both sides having two points on the board. Dublin then jumped into the lead with a 1-01 burst with Kevin Fitzgerald punching to the net after Nick McKeown kept a long sideline from Shane Carty in play. Carty was proving to be a major thorn in the Kerry side along side Dave Mooney who was very impressive.

Mooney was a calming influence with his solo runs from the back as he floated throughout the field. The sides had two each to open the second half before Kerry put three points in a row on the board to make it all even with a quarter hour left, 0-08 to 1-05. How Dublin reacted was crucial. They had two Carty frees then Jason Kelly from Kerry received his second yellow and headed for an early shower. Kyle Cockery and Brian Newman had points to combat Carty’s fisted score which gave him seven on the day. The man disadvantage was hurting Kerry as they tried in vain for the tying score and clearances by Mike Furlong, Sean McGrath and Colin Madden secured the win.

Kerry 1 Finbarr Flood 2 Kevin Caffrey 3 Shane Coffey 4 Damien Clogher 5 Eoghan O’Mahoney 6 Justin O’Halloran (0-01)7 Alan Lyne 8 Naill Moran 9 Jason Kelly (0-02)10 Dan Kennelly (0-01)11 Shane Langan (0-01)12 Kieran O’Shea 13 Kyle Cockery (0-03)14 Brian Newman (0-01)15 Tommy Quaid Subs Donal Walsh (0-01)

Dublin 1 Ray Hennessey 2 Neill Finnigan 3 Mike Furlong 4 Dave Synott 5 Sean McGrath 6 Barry McKiernan 7 Colin Madden (0-01)8 Cathel Loughnane 9 Chris Coran 10 Brian Whitten 11 Shane Carty (0-07)12 Steve Briodi 13 Nick McKeown 14 Kevin Fitzgerald (1-00) 15 Dave Mooney
Man of the Match Shane Carty (Dublin)

Referee Paddy Gormley

Senior Football: Reilly the Man for Rebels
Cork 4-12 Tyrone 2-13

Cork came back from early deficits to use a blistering three goals in a row bombardment to qualify for the final of the Ned Devine Cup next Sunday. 

Behind by 1-07 to 0-03 after twenty minutes they slowly clawed back by using the power of the goal. It was Benny Reilly who had their first three pointer when he picked up a pass from Jason Kelly and blasted to the net.

A [point from Ronan Caffrey cancelled out a John Murtagh score and the Cork side was back within three at the half. Three points in the first three minutes of the second half had the side’s level before Conor Downey had firstly a point then a goal when he was set free for Tyrone.

The next ten minutes changed the game. A point from Jason Kelly was followed by an excellent Benny Reilly goal when Ronan Caffrey set him up. A long free by Kelly was flicked to the net by Shane Mannion two minutes later and the ensuing kickout was won by Ger McCullough who found the Master Reilly and he had his third goal and Corks fourth. They were easily able to match Tyrone point for point in the last seven minutes as they secured a spot in the Cup final.  

Cork 1 Gary Looney 2 John Fitzpatrick 4 Paddy Harrington 5 Derek Courtney 6 Liam Hanley 7 Brian Argue (0-02)8 Shane Mannion (1-00)9 Ger McCullough (0-03)10 Shea Furlong  11 Jason Kelly (0-03)12 Francie Cleary13 Benny Reilly (3-02)15 Ronan Caffrey (0-02) Subs Tadgh Foley Sean Lordon

Tyrone 1 Brian Cuilinane 2 Joe Bell 4 Gerard McCullough 5 Seamus Skefington (0-02)6 Steve Keating 7 Paul Mulherne 8 Martin McCreesh 9 Conor McNabb 10 Aiden Power (0-02)11 Ronan Garvey 12 Deon Gallagher 13 John Murtagh (1-07)15 Justin McCaffrey Subs Conor Downey (1-02) Michael Grimes Sean Roche
Man of the Match Benny Reilly (Cork)

Referee Sean Jones

Senior Football: Leitrim will defend title
Leitrim 3-15  Down 1-10

With a late flourish Leitrim qualified for the Ned Devine Cup final where they will defend the title they have held for the last two years against Cork. Leading 1-06 to 0-04 at the break they were still not clear of an opponent who would not give up. Stephen Brown, John Goldrick, Adrian O’Connor and Cian Tobin were leading the Leitrim side but continued good play from Brendan McGourty and Sean Kelly helped Down to stay close.

After a Jamie Doolin goal extended the lead to 2-08 to 0-06, Sean Kelly had a penalty and Robbie Moran a point to again bring the Mournemen back within striking distance. Six points evenly spread led to the final ten minutes of winners dominance as they scored the final 1-04 of the game to get the win and give themselves a chance at three in a row.

Leitrim 1 Pa Ryan 2 Lonon Maguire 4 John Goldrick 5 Jason Killeen 6 Stephen Brown 7 Colm Cronin 8 Pat Madden (0-01)9 Adrian O’Connor (1-03)10 Michael Creegan (0-01)11 Paul O’Hara (0-02)12 Cian Tobin (1-01)13 Donal Hartnett (0-01)15 Jamie Doolin (1-00) Subs Kenny O’Connor (0-05) Thomas McGovern (0-01) Alan Foley Shane Sweeney

Down 1 Mark Kelly 2 Brian Murray 4 Dermot Hayes 5 Barry Annette (0-01) 6 Brendan McGourty (0-03)7 Damien Ward 8 Robbie Moran (0-01)9 Sean Kelly (1-01)10 Brian Annett 11 Michael Sloan (0-01)12 Sean Fee (0-02)13 Liam Farrell 15 Michael Sheridan Subs Terrence Flynn (0-01)

Man of the Match Cian Tobin (Leitrim)
Referee Lawrence McGrath