Three Lions from Ireland’s contingent of 14 have been nominated for the Bord Gáis Irish Rugby Union Players Association Players’ Player of the Year Award.

Irish captain Brian O’Driscoll, Ulster flanker Stephen Ferris and 2008 winner Tommy Bowe will contest the accolade with the winner announced on May 6 in Dublin.

The trio played in every game of Ireland’s Grand Slam success and will travel with Ian McGeechan’s squad to South Africa in the summer.

Bowe, who is also nominated for his vital try against Wales in Cardiff, said: "It's a tremendous honor to be nominated by my peers for these awards and to be nominated in two categories is a great honor for me and my family.  This has been an unbelievable season for me and for Irish rugby and to be nominated alongside the outstanding names on this list is a privilege."

Another Lion Keith Earls will contest the Young Player of the Year Award with Leinster’s Cian Healy and Ulster centre Darren Cave.

Bord Gáis Energy IRUPA Players Player of the Year 2009

Tommy Bowe                        Ospreys

Stephen Ferris                      Ulster

Brian O’Driscoll                     Leinster

IRUPA Club Energise Sport Unsung Hero of the Year 2009

Rory Best                               Ulster

John Hayes                            Munster

Stan Wright                            Leinster

IRUPA Nature Valley Young Player of the Year 2009

Darren Cave                          Ulster

Keith Earls                             Munster

Cian Healy                             Leinster

IRUPA Tyrone Crystal Try of the Year 2009

Tommy Bowe                       Wales V Ireland

Jamie Heaslip                       Ireland V France

Brian O’Driscoll                    Leinster V Wasps