In Ireland, 85 beaches and nine marinas have been awarded Blue Flags ahead of the 2024 bathing season.

Of the 94 locations awarded Blue Flags, 13 are in County Kerry, 12 are in County Donegal, 12 are in County Mayo, 11 are in County Cork, nine are in CountyGalway, eight are located in County Clare, five are in CountyWexford, four are in County Dublin, three are in County Louth, three are in County Wicklow, two are in County Sligo, two are in County Waterford, and one is in County Meath. 

Blue Flags, an internationally recognized accolade, are awarded to coastal locations with excellent levels of water quality, information provision, environmental education, safety, and beach management. 

Derrynane Beach, Caherdaniel, Co Kerry. (Ireland's Content Pool)

Derrynane Beach, Caherdaniel, Co Kerry. (Ireland's Content Pool)

A total of 82 of the 85 beaches awarded Blue Flag status in 2023 retained the accolade ahead of the 2024 season.

Ballymoney in County Wexford, Rush in North County Dublin, and Tramore in County Waterford lost their titles after water quality at each location was downgraded from "excellent" to "good."

Meanwhile, Bettystown Beach in County Meath has been awarded Blue Flag status for the first time since 1996, while Enniscrone in County Sligo has received a Blue Flag for the first time since 2014. 

An aerial view of Enniscrone Beach and Village in Co Sligo. (Ireland's Content Pool)

An aerial view of Enniscrone Beach and Village in Co Sligo. (Ireland's Content Pool)

Traught Beach in Kinvara, County Galway regained Blue Flag status after losing its title in 2021. 

Kitesurfing on Traught Beach, Kinvara, Co Galway. (Ireland's Content Pool)

Kitesurfing on Traught Beach, Kinvara, Co Galway. (Ireland's Content Pool)

Nine of the ten Irish marinas awarded Blue Flag status in 2023 have retained their titles for the 2024 season. 

Donegal County Council withdrew the Blue Flag awarded to Greencastle Marina last year as construction works at the harbor necessitated the closure of the seasonal marina. There was no application for the 2024 season. 

An Taisce, Ireland's national trust, is responsible for the Blue Flag program in Ireland on behalf of the Foundation of Environmental Education.

The Blue Flag program operates in 48 countries, with over 5,000 global beaches qualifying for the award. 

An Taisce is also responsible for awarding the separate Green Coast Award, which recognizes a combination of natural beauty and a clean environment. 

A total of 70 Irish beaches received Green Coast Awards ahead of the 2024 season, an increase of four compared to last year.

Just ten beaches around the country received both a Green Coast Award and a Blue Flag ahead of the upcoming bathing season, which runs from June 1 to September 15. 

Quilty Beach in County Clare is receiving a Green Coast Award for the first time ever, while Cross Louisburgh in County Mayo has received its first award since 2013. 

Cross Beach on the Belmullet Peninsula, Co Mayo. (Ireland's Content Pool)

Cross Beach on the Belmullet Peninsula, Co Mayo. (Ireland's Content Pool)

Hildegarde Naughton, a Minister of State at the Department of Education, launched the 2024 awards at a ceremony in her native Galway on Monday, May 20, stating that Ireland is "lucky" to have such excellent standards of bathing water. 

"As we get warmed up for the bathing and swimming season this year we are breaking the record with some 70 Beaches receiving the Green Coast Award," Naughton said in a statement.

"We all know just how lucky we are to have such beautiful water quality and natural beauty across our shores and this year’s recipients are testament to just how exceptional and rich in diversity our beaches are.

"Congratulations to everyone involved and I want to wish a very happy and safe bathing and swimming season to everyone for 2024." 

Blue Flag Beaches in Ireland for the 2024 bathing season (June 1 - September 15):

  • Co Clare - Ballycuggeran
  • Co Clare - Fanore Awarded Awarded
  • Co Clare - Kilkee Awarded Awarded
  • Co Clare - Lahinch Awarded Awarded
  • Co Clare - Mountshannon, Lough Derg
  • Co Clare - Spanish Point
  • Co Clare - White Strand Doonbeg
  • Co Clare - White Strand Miltown Malbay
  • Co Cork - Fountainstown
  • Co Cork - Barley Cove
  • Co Cork - Garretstown Awarded Awarded
  • Co Cork - Garrylucas, White Strand
  • Co Cork - Inchydoney East Beach 
  • Co Cork - Inchydoney West Beach
  • Co Cork - Owenahincha, Little Island Strand
  • Co Cork - Redbarn
  • Co Cork - Tragumna 
  • Co Cork - Youghal, Front Strand
  • Co Cork - Youghal, Claycastle
  • Co Donegal - Bundoran
  • Co Donegal - Carrickfinn 
  • Co Donegal - Culdaff 
  • Co Donegal - Downings
  • Co Donegal - Fintra
  • Co Donegal - Killahoey
  • Co Donegal - Marble Hill
  • Co Donegal - Murvagh
  • Co Donegal - Naran
  • Co Donegal - Portsalon
  • Co Donegal - Rossnowlagh
  • Co Donegal - Stroove
  • Co Dublin - Killiney
  • Co Dublin - Seapoint
  • Co Dublin - Balcarrick, Donabate
  • Co Dublin - Portmarnock, Velvet Strand Beach
  • Co Galway - Salthill Beach 
  • Co Galway - Silverstrand Beach
  • Co Galway - Cill Mhuirbhigh, Inis Mór
  • Co Galway -  Trá Inis Oírr (Main Beach)
  • Co Galway - An Trá Mór, Coill Rua, Indreabhán 
  • Co Galway - Trá an Dóilín, An Ceathrú Rua
  • Co Galway - Bathing Place at Portumna
  • Co Galway - Loughrea Lake
  • Co Galway - Traught Kinvara
  • Co Kerry - Baile an Sceilg (Ballinskelligs)
  • Co Kerry - Ballybunion North Beach
  • Co Kerry - Ballybunion South Beach
  • Co Kerry - Ballyheigue
  • Co Kerry - Banna Strand
  • Co Kerry - Doire Fhíonáin (Derrynane)
  • Co Kerry - Fenit
  • Co Kerry - Fionntrá (Ventry)
  • Co Kerry - Inch
  • Co Kerry - Kells
  • Co Kerry - Maharabeg
  • Co Kerry - Rossbeigh, White Strand
  • Co Kerry - White Strand, Caherciveen
  • Co Louth - Clogherhead 
  • Co Louth - Port, Lurganboy
  • Co Louth - Shelling Hill, Templetown
  • Co Mayo - Clare Island, Louisburgh
  • Co Mayo - Bertra
  • Co Mayo - Dooega Beach, Achill Island 
  • Co Mayo - Dugort Beach, Achill Island
  • Co Mayo - Elly Bay, Belmullet
  • Co Mayo - Golden Strand, Achill Island 
  • Co Mayo - Keel Beach, Achill Island
  • Co Mayo - Keem Beach, Achill Island
  • Co Mayo - Mullaghroe Beach, Belmullet
  • Co Mayo - Mulranny Beach 
  • Co Mayo - Old Head
  • Co Mayo - Ross Beach, Killala
  • Co Meath - Bettystown Beach
  • Co Sligo - Enniscrone 
  • Co Sligo - Rosses Point Beach
  • Co Waterford - Ardmore Beach
  • Co Waterford - Clonea Beach
  • Co Wexford - Ballinesker
  • Co Wexford - Carne
  • Co Wexford - Curracloe
  • Co Wexford - Morriscastle
  • Co Wexford - Rosslare Strand 
  • Co Wicklow - Brittas Bay North Beach
  • Co Wicklow - Brittas Bay South Beach
  • Co Wicklow - Greystones South Beach

Blue Flag Awarded Marinas in Ireland for 2024

  • Co Clare - Kilrush Marina 
  • Co Cork - Kinsale Yacht Club
  • Co Cork - The Royal Cork Yacht Club
  • Co Donegal - Rathmullan Marina
  • Co Kerry - Fenit Marina
  • Co Kerry - Portmagee Seasonal Visitors Pontoons
  • Co Westmeath - Quigleys Marina, Killinure Point 
  • Co Wexford - Kilmore Quay Marina
  • Co Wexford - New Ross Marina.