Offaly had an easy victory over Tipperary in the opening senior hurling match of the 2012 season. They used a strong display from Dan Dwyer and Eoin Dillon to dominate the middle and were able to score at will on a glorious Father’s Day at Gaelic Park.

They had a 1-13 to 0-3 at the short whistle, with Dwyer getting four points in the opening half while Donie Broderick added also had four to pace the side.

Aiden McInerney had the goal 15 minutes in when he linked with Killian Lenard. Ray Murray saved two further certain goals, however, with brave stops from Sweeney and Dwyer.

Pat Egan and Ronan Liston had the Tipperary points on what was a long afternoon. With new referee Ciaran Cronin from Bantry in Cork controlling proceedings, Tipperary made a strong opening to the second half.

They had three of the first five scores, with Davie Loughnane clipping over two. Paddy Tuohy received his second yellow card for an over zealous foul to hurt their ambitions.

Dwyer had the second Offaly goal on 13 minutes, with Shane Sweeney adding their third with Broderick and Eoghan Kyne doing the spade work.

Paudie Kyne completed the scoring for Offaly in the shortened second half and the hurling Championship was under way.

Offaly will be delighted with the performances of Dillon, Lenard and Sean Sullivan at the back, while Dan Dwyer was clinical in the middle of the park.

Donie Broderick and Aiden McInerney (first half) were prominent up front, with Eoghan Kyne very active off the bench.

Tipperary will recover and have better days. Ray Murray was outstanding in his 30 minutes in goal; Jack Ryan and Davie Loughnane were also effective. 

There were four Irish Americans on the field as the game was played in the second half. Great to see, and it shows the young lads playing under 10, 12 and up today, that they will get a chance in the near future at the senior level.

Tipperary: 1 Ray Murray, 2 Paddy Tuohy, 4 Ronan Liston (0-1), 5 Willie Reidy, 6 Jack Ryan, 7 Danny Masters, 8 Davie Loughnane (0-2), 9 John Madden, 10 Brian Brooks (0-1), 11 Paddy Egan (0-1), 12 Paddy Teehan, 13 Kevin Kennedy, 15 Eddie Hogan. Subs: Danny Lehane.

Offaly: 1 Brian McNaughton, 2 Sean Sullivan, 4 Mark Quinn, 5 Ciaran O’Keefe, 6 Eoin Dillon (0-2), 7 Killian Lenard, 8 Dan Dwyer (1-5), 9 Calem O’Hare, 10 Kieran Mannering, 11 Eamonn McInerney (1-1), 12 Donie Broderick (0-4), 13 Brendan Blackwell (0-1), 15 Shane Sweeney (1-3). Subs: Eoghan Kyne, Paudie Kyne (0-1), Alan Gleason.

Man of the match: Dan Dwyer (Offaly).

Referee: Ciaran Cronin (Bantry, Cork).

Gaelic Park in the Bronx, NYGoogle Images