Irish actor Michael Fassbender has received a Best Supporting Actor Academy Award nomination for his role in “12 Years a Slave” along with U2 who received a nomination for Best Original Song for “Ordinary Love” in “Mandela: A Long Walk to Freedom”.

The Dublin rock band, U2, won an award in the same category in 2014 Golden Globes and  are expected to nab the coveted Oscar statue on March 2.

“Philomena” has also been nominated for a number of awards including Best Actress, Best Picture, and Best Adapted Screenplay. The movie starring Dame Judi Dench and Steve Coogan, was filmed in Ireland. It follows the story of Philomena Lee, an elderly Irish woman searching for the toddler son she gave up for adoption as an unmarried mother in Catholic Ireland.

Joining Fassbender in the Best Supporting Actor category is Jared Leto in “Dallas Buyers Club” who won the Golden Globe in the same category. Other nominees include Barkhad Abdi (“Captain Philipps”), Bradley Cooper (“American Hustle”), and Jonah Hill (“The Wolf of Wall Street”).

Joining Philomena in Best Picture nominations are “American Hustle”, “Captain Phillips”, “Dallas Buyers Club”, “Gravity”, “Her”, “Nebraska”, “12 Years a Slave”, and “The Wolf of Wall Street”.

Best Actor nominees are Christian Bale (“American Hustle”), Bruce Dern (“Nebraska”), Chiwetel Ejiofor (“12 Years a Slave”), Matthew McConaughey (“Dallas Buyers Club”) and Leonardo DiCaprio (“The Wolf of Wall Street”).

Best Actress nominees are Amy Adams (“American Hustle”), Cate Blanchett (“Blue Jasmine”), Sandra Bullock (“Gravity”), Judi Dench (“Philomena”), and Meryl Streep (“August: Osage County”).

Best Supporting Actress nominees are Sally Hawkins (“Blue Jasmine”), Jennifer Lawrence (“American Hustle”), Lupita Nyong'o (“12 Years a Slave”), Julia Roberts (“August: Osage County”) and June Squibb (“Nebraska”).

The Best Director nominees are Alfonso Cuarón (“Gravity”), Alexander Payne (“Nebraska”), Steve McQueen (‘12 Years a Slave”), David O Russell (“American Hustle”) and Martin Scorsese (“The Wolf of Wall Street”).

The winners will be announced on Sunday March 2.