"Old God's Time" by Sebastian Barry and "Haven" by Emma Donoghue are among the six novels shortlisted for the 2024 Dublin Literary Award.

With a prize of €100k, the Dublin Literary Award is the largest award for a single novel published in English.

Sebastian Barry's "Old God's Time" and Emma Donoghue's "Haven" are joined by "Solenoid" by Mircea Cărtărescu and translated by Sean Cotter, "If I Survive You" by Jonathan Escoffery, "The Sleeping Car Porter" by Suzette Mayr, and "Praiseworthy" by Alexis Wright.

Introducing the 2024 Shortlist! 🎉

✨Old God’s Time by Sebastian Barry
✨ Solenoid by Mircea Cărtărescu, translated by Sean Cotter
✨ Haven by Emma Donoghue
✨ If I Survive You by Jonathan Escoffery
✨ The Sleeping Car Porter by Suzette Mayr
✨Praiseworthy by Alexis Wright pic.twitter.com/zjOitTTDJk

— Dublin Literary Award (@DublinLitAward) March 26, 2024

The international panel of judges who have selected the shortlist and will also select the ultimate winner features Daniel Medin, Professor of comparative literature at the American University of Paris; Ingunn Snædal an Icelandic poet, translator, literary editor and teacher; Anton Hur an author and translator based in Korea; Irenosen Okojie a Nigerian-British author who has judged various literary prizes and was awarded an MBE for Services to Literature in 2021 and Lucy Collins, an Associate Professor at University College Dublin, where she teaches modern and contemporary literature.

The non-voting Chairperson is Professor Chris Morash, the Seamus Heaney Professor of Irish Writing at Trinity College Dublin.

The six-member international judging panel, chaired by Prof. Chris Morash, will select one winner, which will be announced by the Patron of the Award, the Lord Mayor of Dublin Daithí de Róiste on Thursday, May 23 during the International Literature Festival Dublin (ILFD) which runs from the 17th to the 26th May 2024 in Merrion Square Park.

The novels nominated and shortlisted for the Award will be available for readers to borrow from Dublin City Libraries and from public libraries around Ireland, or can be borrowed as eBooks and some as eAudiobooks on the free Borrowbox app, available to all public library users.

The Lord Mayor of Dublin, Daithí de Róiste said: “The titles on this year’s shortlist were nominated by public libraries in Romania, Germany, Jamaica, Canada, and Australia.

"This Award is notable for highlighting authors from around the world while simultaneously celebrating excellence in contemporary literature.

"The 2024 winner will be chosen from this fascinating shortlist, which includes one novel in translation, and explores themes of race, discrimination, trauma, solitude and communism.”

Dublin City Librarian Mairead Owens thanked the nominating libraries from around the world for providing a window to different worlds and cultures through this enriching reading experience. 

“It’s always a pleasure to see the carefully selected shortlist from a longlist of 70 books and as ever we are indebted to the judging panel for their contribution in this regard.

"I know our library members will find much to muse over as they read the featured novels, all of which are available to borrow from your local library. I hope to see many readers diving into the shortlist and picking their own favourite before this year’s Dublin Literary Award winner is announced on Thursday, May 23. Enjoy!"

IrishCentral Book Club

Looking for Irish book recommendations or to meet with others who share your love for Irish literature? Join IrishCentral’s Book Club on Facebook and enjoy our book-loving community.

Last year, German author Katja Oskamp won the award for "Marzahn, Mon Amour," which was translated by Jo Heinrich. If the winning novel has been translated, the author receives €75,000 and the translator receives €25,000.

In 2020, Irish author Anna Burns won the award for her novel "Milkman."

The longlist for the award, released in January, included other Irish authors, Joseph O'Connor's novel "My Father's House" and Claire Kilroy's novel "Soldier, Sailor."