Novels by four Irish authors are among the 70 books nominated by 80 libraries around the world for the 2024 Dublin Literary Award, which is sponsored by Dublin City Council.

Celebrating excellence in world literature and now in its 29th year, the Dublin Literary Award is the world’s most valuable annual prize for a single work of fiction published in English, worth €100,000 to the winner.

Titles for the 2024 Award by Irish authors are: 

  • "Old God’s Time" by Sebastian Barry, published by Faber & Faber, and nominated by Stadtbücherei Frankfurt am Main.
  • "My Father’s House" by Joseph O’Connor, published by Harvill Secker, and nominated by Cork City Libraries, Ireland.
  • "Soldier, Sailor" by Claire Kilroy, published by Faber & Faber, and nominated by Dublin City Libraries.
  • "Haven" by Emma Donoghue, published by Picador/Pan Macmillan, and nominated by Toronto Public Library.

The Dublin Literary Award longlist, compiled from libraries across 35 countries in Africa, Europe, Asia, the US, Canada, South America, Australia, and New Zealand, has 31 novels in translation and 16 debut novelists. New Zealand author Catherine Chidgey has been nominated for two novels. If the winning book has been translated, the author receives €75,000 and the translator receives €25,000.

The 31 translated books represent 14 languages including Finnish, Hungarian, Romanian, Serbian, and Turkish.

IrishCentral Book Club

Looking for Irish book recommendations or to meet with others who share your love for Irish literature? Join IrishCentral’s Book Club on Facebook and enjoy our book-loving community.

Speaking at the launch of the longlist, Patron of the Award, the Lord Mayor of Dublin, Daithí de Róiste said: “This year’s longlist is an eclectic mix of world literature taking the reader on a journey through different cultures and traditions and highlights the importance of our shared literary imagination and the power of the written word.”

An international panel of judges will select the Dublin Literary Award shortlist, which will be unveiled on March 26, and the winner, who will be announced by the Lord Mayor of Dublin on May 23 as part of the International Literature Festival Dublin, which is also funded by Dublin City Council.

The 2023 Dublin Literary Award was given to German author Katja Oskamp for "Marzahn, Mon Amour," which was translated by Jo Heinrich. 

The Dublin Literary Award was last won by an Irish author in 2020 when Anna Burns nabbed the prize for her book "Milkman."