Cork Click at the Park

Cork 1-14 Four Provinces 0-6

Cork had far too many weapons for Four Provinces as they got their season back on track with an easy senior football win on Sunday.

With a lively full forward line that created chances and finished well they brought a new side to their game. Joe O’Neill had a goal in the 10th minute that set the pace with his side adding three points to the total to lead by 1-3 to 0-1 after 12 minutes.

When Michael Jordan and Steve Robinson had scores for the visitors it looked as if a resurgence was possible. Cork was having none of it however, and they responded with points from J.P. Boyle (three), Nicky Dineen, and Ciaran Lyng before the break. Leading 1-18 to 0-5, the winners completely dominated the second half by allowing only one point by their opponents and adding a further six to their own total. Such was the dominance of the back line where Kieran Cotter and Alan Rafferty were superb up the middle that they had opportunity to go forward, with Cotter grabbing a pint while Sean Lordon from the middle of the park also shot two.

With the ease of the victory, particularly in the second half, Cork will not get too excited. They will be happy to get back on the winning trail and will be delighted with the performances of Evan Byrne, Kieran Cotter, Rafferty, Boyle and the two newcomers Rory Woods and Ciaran Lyng.

Four Provinces still have a chance at the playoffs despite the result. The nucleus of Doyle, Padraig Mallon, Caolan Daly, Mike Higgins and Chris Calhoun all showed that they all have plenty of football left.

Cork: Evan Byrne, Paddy Harrington, Kevin Cotter (0-1), Denis McCarthy, Liam Hanly, Alan Rafferty, John Fitzpatrick, Sean Lordan (0-2), Dave Cremins, Nickey Dineen (0-2), J.P. Boyle (0-3), Francie Cleary, Ciaran Lyng (0-3), Rory Woods (0-2), Joe O’Neill (1-0). Subs: Jack Hoare, Kieran Potter, Derek Courtney, Keith McMahon, Steve Gomez, Gary Donoghue.

Four Provinces: Mickey Grimes, Dave Doyle, Anthony Moore, Frank O’Neill, Liam O’Donnell, Padraig Mallon, James McCann, Thomas Hughes, Caelon Daly, Mickey Jordan (0-3), Mike Higgins (0-1), Paul Walsh, Steve Robinson (0-1), Mike Boyle, Chris Calhoun. Subs: Jason McCarron (0-1), Liam Moore, Kevin Marrion.

Man of the match: Ciaran Lyng (Cork).

Referee: John Fitzpatrick (Rockland).

Rebound for Leitrim

Leitrim 3-16 Kerry 0-8

Leitrim are back on the winning trail after their first loss of the season two weekends ago with an emphatic win over Kerry.

A rejigged full forward line with Scott Conroy and Jamie Doolin getting back on track and combining for 3-7 was far too much for Kerry to handle; Doolin in particular was clinical in his finishing.

With a halftime lead of 1-10 to 0-4, the game was over after 30 minutes. They jumped into a 1-3 lead before Shane Carty had Kerry’s first score, with Conroy following that score with a brace that again put the Kingdom back on its heels.

The forward line was gelling and moving with ease, while the move of Kenny O’Connor to the middle of the field to compensate for the absence of suspended brother Adrian also had positive results.

To open the second half Leitrim had their second goal, and again it was Doolin who found the net. He had goal number three moments later when he linked with Mike Creegan.

They added six further points, with O’Connor helping himself to a brace while Dan Doona also found the score sheet.

Kerry had little in the way of resistance, and the game petered to the end with Leitrim firmly in control in the second blowout senior football contest of the day,

Leitrim: Pa Ryan, Dermot Keane, Mark Delaney, Alan Foley, Niall McGuire, Shane Doolin, Owen O’Neill, Pat Madden, Ken O’Connor (0-3), Mike Creegan (0-1), Dan Doona (0-4), John O’Neill (0-1), Scott Conroy (0-5), Jamie Doolin (3-2), Donal Hartnett. Subs: Tony Cullen, Danny O’Sullivan.

Kerry: Kieran Bergin, Niall Corbett, Colin Mahoney, Tom Quaid, Collie Fearon, Eoghan Mahoney, Muiris O’Sullivan (0-1), Allen O’Sullivan (0-1), Bingo O’Driscoll, Shane Carty, Conor Ryan, Paudi Doyle, Ross Donovan (0-1), Dermie Foley (0-1).

Man of the match: Jamie Doolin (Leitrim).

Referee: Sean Jones (Fermanagh).

Donegal, Rangers for Junior Final

Donegal 1-7 Rockland 0-9

Rangers 2-17 Celtics 0-4

The junior football semifinals took place on Sunday with Donegal and Rangers qualifying for the final with contrasting victories.

Rangers used a dominating performance by Killian Caffrey, Ronan Caffrey, Sean O’Neill and Eoin Delaney to completely snuff out the challenge of a depleted Celtics squad. On the strength of the win they will certainly start as strong favorites in Sunday’s final.

A tight marking defense where Thomas Maher and Gavin Beadie were both impressive makes them a formidable opponent for any team.

Donegal were made to work much harder in their contest against Rockland, and they just did enough to get the slim one point win.

Strong performances by Ray Darcy, Ronan Molloy, Liam McGinley and Jack Donnelly helped them emerge from a one point halftime deficit to win after Molloy linked with McGinley to rattle the net in the second half.

Strong defensive work by Donnelly, Anton Toner and Tony McMahon quelled any Rockland chances in the last few minutes of the game.

Donegal: Sean Garvey, Anton Toner, Brendan Gurrier, Jack Donnelly, Mark Duggan, Tony McMahon, Tommy Moran, Dermot Friel, Ray Darcy (0-2), Paddy Moran, Anton Diver, Ronan Molloy (1-2), Keith Moran, Liam McGinley (0-3). Subs: Justin Friel, Michael Flood, Chris Duggan.

Rockland: Chris Clarke, Declan Neville, Jimmy O’Flynn, Shane McCaffrey, Terence Moore, James Donohue, Brendan Fennell, Nick Mangan (0-2), Ciaran Quealey, Shane Hanley (0-2), Sean Roche (0-1), Sean McGrath, Patrick Keane, Mike Keane, Chris Tully. Subs: Kieran McMahon (0-1), Emmet Woods, Ciaran Lee, Glen Roche, Gary Ginley, Brian Grant.

Rangers: John Williams, Malachy McHugh, Chris Colleran, Stephen Cassels, Roy Henley, Tomas Maher, Gavin Beadie, Killian Caffrey (0-3), Sean O’Neill (0-4), Derrick Courtney (0-2), Stephen O’Shea (0-2), Lorcan Malone, Eoin Delaney (1-1), Mike Sheridan (1-1), Ronan Caffrey (0-3). Subs: Robbie Doyle (0-1)

Celtics: Kieran Traynor, John O’Donnell, Danny O’Sullivan, Sean Wally, Billy Green, David O’Sullivan (0-1), Dan McNulty, Derek McKenna, Vinnie Mannion, Tom Brady, Ken Cox, Kevin Tracey (0-2), Gary Nugent, Kevin O’Connell, Willie Doyle. Sub: Brian Logue (0-1).