Junior Football Final

Celtics take Junior Title

New York Celtics 1-13 Cavan 1-11

The New York Celtics were victorious in the Junior Football final after an intense battle when they used two late points from Johnny McGeeney to finally put space between the sides. Cavan had held  the lead at the half 0-07 to 0-06 and had drawn level with three minutes left but Brilliance from Johnny McGeeney took the title for Celtics. Cavan had the first two points of the game but then Celtics with a brace from Roichie Morgan and Barry O’Hare snuck inot a slim lead. Cavan did have a goal chance from Tomo Smith before they dominated the last ten minutes with four of five points to back ahead.

They added to their toytal with three points from Bird, Smith and Lynch in the first three minutes of the second half. Celtics then made thjeir came changing attack. Three successive points from McGeeney, two, and O’Hare were followed by a brilliant goal from Barry O’Hare which cancelled out a three pointer at the other end from Sean Sheanan. Further points from McGeeney, Hallessy and a brilliant O’Hare score moved them into a 1-011 to 1-09 advantage. They looked as if they had momentunm for the win but Cavan had their last go round with ponts from Tomo Smith a free, when McGeeney whisled fouled as he headed for goal, and Seamus Kelly an excellent point. It looked as if we were headed for a draw but then Johnny McGeeney had his last magic touch for the win.

Celtics 1 Kevin McArdle 2 Rory Creegan 3 Danny O’Sullivan 4 Darrenb McDermott 5 Kevin Tracey 6 Sam Yore 7 Liam McCarthy 8 Michael Hallessy (0-01)  9 Derek McKenna 10 Barry O’Hare (1-05)11 Conor Hughes 12 Gary Nugent 13 Niall Lennon 14 Kenny Cox 15 Richie Morgan (0-02) Subs Johnny McGeeney (0-05), Kieran Gannon

Cavan 1 Martin O’Connor 2 Gerry Fitzpatrick 3 Brian Murreay 4 Kevin Smitrh 5 Brendan Reilly 6 Joe Wadding (0-04)7 Caoimhin Sheridan 8 Anton Reilly 9 Shane Dowling 10 Barry Dalton 11 Paddy Smith (0-02)12 Seamus Sexton 13 Cian Bird (0-02)14 Seamus Kelly (0-01)15 Johnny Lynch (0-02) Subs Senan Flanagan, Michael Smith, Gary McDermott,

Man of the match Johnny McGeeney (Celtics)

Referee Tommy Fahey (Waterford)

Senior Football Final

Three in a row for Leitrim
Leitrim 2-12 Kerry 3-06

The three in a roiw is complete for Leitrim after a hard fought and bad tempered final against Kerry. Both sides finished with 14 players but a number more could have gone. That said when the football was being played the talent of Ciaran McKeever, Brendan Donaghy and Jamie Clarke came to the top with the defensive players having excellent games while Clarke got the scores when needed. Kerry had an early lead 0-03 to 0-02 but they lost Paraic King to a shoulder injury which changed their outlook completely. Dan Doona leveled the tie with twebnty minutes gone at 4  and his side moved into a three point lead with Clarke and Doona, two, the scorers as they made good use of the early ball inside. The sides were level five minutes before the break when CJ Molloy took down a pass from Lee and finished brilliantly. Adrian O’Connor received his second yellow at this point before  A Clarke free again put Leitrim ahead. Kerry had a brilliant start to the second half when they fired in 2-01 in the first seven minutes. Alarmingly they only scored one point the rest of the way. Leitrim had a Doona point then a well finished goal from the advancing Lonan McGuire. After Cj Molloy appeared to be fouled but there was no call, Dermie Foley crashed a shot of the upright. Moran did point a free but Leitrim with Donaghy and McKeever dominant stopped a number of attacks while adding 1-02 at the other end. The goal came from Clarke when Dan Doona fired a long ball into the square and the corner forward got the important touch. Kerry had lost a player, Kieran Scannell as well at this point and with the teams level numerically, Leitrim were now holding all the cards. They never allowed an attack of note to trouble their goal in the waning moments and the three in a row was complete.

Leitrim 1 Pa Ryan 2 Mike Creegan 3 Brendan Donaghy 4 Lonan McGuire (1-00) 5 Peter Fahey 6 Ciaran McKeever 7 Shane Maher (0-01)8 Adrian O’Connor (0-01) 9 Ken O’Connor 10 John Goldrick 11 David O’Gara  12 Ray O’Connor 13 Jamie Clarke (1-05) 14 Kenny O’Connor 15 Dan Doona (0-05) Subs Conor O’Loughlin, Mark Dobbin, 

Kerry 1 Shane Clifford 2 Paul Kelly 3 Darren Courtney 4 James Huvane 5 Kieran Scannell 6 Mike Nester 7 John Curran 8 Mike Fitzgerald 9 Padraig King 10 Robbie Moran (0-04)11 Thomas Lee (1-01)12 Ross Donavan (0-01)13 Dermie Foley 14 CJ Molloy (1-00)15 Alan Fitzgerald  Subs Eoin Hogan, Sean Kelly Kevin Walsh (1-00)

Referee Lawrence McGrath (Donegal)

Man of the Match Lonan McGuire (Leitrim)

National Collegiate Gaelic Athletic Association selected the Big Apple due to facilities and their enthusiasm for GAASportsfile / GAA