Ireland will begin their T20 Cricket World Cup campaign against heavyweights India at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York on Wednesday, June 5.

Ireland have been drawn in a difficult group featuring 2022 runners-up Pakistan, India, Canada, and co-hosts USA for the upcoming World Cup. 

The tournament, the ninth edition of the T20 Cricket World, is being co-hosted by the USA and the West Indies and consists of 20 teams drawn into four groups of five, with the top two from each group progressing to the Super 8s. 

📆 | Dates for your diary #BackingGreen ☘️🏏

— Cricket Ireland (@cricketireland) June 2, 2024

The Irish team arrived in the US at the end of May ahead of a warm-up match against Sri Lanka in Florida, with Sri Lanka prevailing by 41 runs. 

Alas, the last wickets fall and we finish all out for 122.

All top six batters got starts, but no one could anchor the innings. Campher's 26 off 26 balls looked the pick of our batters, but Shanaka's 4-23 (3.2 overs) proved decisive.

On to New York we go. 👊


— Cricket Ireland (@cricketireland) May 31, 2024

Ireland, who qualified for the World Cup through the ICC Men's T20 World Cup Europe Region Qualifier 2023, begin their World Cup campaign against India at 10:30 am EST on Wednesday, June 5.

The Irish team, captained by Paul Stirling, will then take on Canada at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium on Friday, June 7, before traveling to Florida for a clash with the USA at the Central Broward Regional Park Stadium in Lauderhill on Friday, June 14. 

Ireland will conclude the group stages against Pakistan on Sunday, June 16, also in Florida. 

Ireland famously beat eventual champions England in the last edition of the T20 World Cup, their only victory of the competition proper. 

The USA beat Canada by seven wickets in the opening game of Group A on June 1 and will next face Pakistan at the Grand Prairie Stadium in Dallas, Texas, on June 6. 

Ireland squad for the ICC T20 Cricket World Cup: 

  • Paul Stirling (Captain)
  • Mark Adair
  • Ross Adair
  • Andrew Balbirnie
  • Curtis Campher
  • Gareth Delany
  • George Dockrell
  • Graham Hume
  • Josh Little
  • Barry McCarthy
  • Neil Rock
  • Harry Tector
  • Lorcan Tucker
  • Ben White
  • Craig Young

#TheSquad #BackingGreen ☘️🏏

— Cricket Ireland (@cricketireland) June 2, 2024

How to watch and follow the T20 Cricket World Cup

In Ireland and the UK, every Ireland match will broadcast on Sky Sports.

Official livescoring / scorecards are found here on the ICC Cricket website.

Cricket Ireland’s social media channels (Facebook, X, and Instagram) will provide regular updates.

Fans can also subscribe to Cricket Ireland's Fan Channel on WhatsApp.