St. Raymond’s used a pair of second half goals to set the victory in this John Joe McGovern KO contest. Seamus Lawton was the scorer in chief with a total of 2-2 from play, but he also had help from the experienced CJ Doherty in the full forward line.

Jonathon Daly opened the scoring for Kildare, but the next three points went to the winners with Doherty slotting over a free and also being involved with Lawton on his score.

Ciaran Moran advanced from his defensive position to level the scoring before Doherty again put St. Ray’s in front with his second free.

Danny Lenane had an excellent point straight down the middle to again level the contest, but with 21 minutes gone the winners put breathing room between the sides.

A mover originated in the half back line with Richie Gaule and Thomas Huvane involved before Danny

Murphy was found crossing the opponent’s 45 meter line. He delivered a perfect pass inside to Lawton and the nifty corner forward fired the ball to the net.

Both sides had points before the final whistle of the first half to leave a goal between the sides.

While Tommy Moran opened the scoring in the second half for Kildare with a point, a two goal salvo for the Pelham Bay lads put the decision beyond doubt.

Lawton again started the spree with his second goal, while midfielder Steve Gomez grabbed the third

Raymond’s goal five minutes later. Three further points extended the lead, with James Huvane grabbing one in what was a two minute cameo appearance. It left his side 3-8 to 0-6 ahead.

Kildare finished strong with Daly hitting the post twice before he finally got a goal for his side. Namesake David had their final score, but they never looked like pulling St. Raymond’s back to parity.

The winners had a number of good performances, with Denis Kilkenny, Steve Gomez, Danny Murphy, CJ Doherty and Seamus Lawton particularly impressive.

Kildare are to be praised for their tenacity. Their American-born players did well, with Danny Lenane, Brian Twomey and Phil Kennedy all having positive moments. Jonathon Daly was excellent.

St. Raymond’s: 1 Thomas Enright, 2 Phil Wickham, 4 Noel Blanchfield, 5 Matt Sweeney, 6 Denis Kilkenny, 7 Thomas Huvane, 8 Steve Gomez (1-1), 9 Richie Gaule, 10 Shea Furlong (0-1), 11 Danny Murphy, 12 John Minchin (0-1), 13 CJ Doherty (0-2), 15 Seamus Lawton (2-2). Sub: James Huvane (0-1).

Kildare: 1 John Cribbin, 2 Phil Kennedy, 4 David Daly (0-1), 5 Ciaran Moran (0-1), 6 Danny Lenane (0-1), 7 Paddy Moran, 8 Kevin Daly, 9 Tommy Moran (0-2), 10 Brian Twomey, 11 James Kelly, 12 Jonathon Daly (1-2), 13 George Mitchell, 15 Declan Henry.

Man of the match: Seamus Lawton (St. Raymond’s).

Referee: Steven Cassels.

St. Raymond's victory over Kildare