Rory McIlroy was named America’s Player of the Year by the Professional Golf Association (PGA). The Northern Irish athlete is also the winner of the Vardon Trophy.

Tiger Woods was up for the Player of the Year Award, but was ineligible due to his withdrawal from the final round of the WCG-Cadillac Championship held in Miami last March. Woods withdrew because of an injury.

McIlroy finished the season with an average of 68.87 and if not for his injury, Woods would have finished with an average of 68.9. His incomplete round resulted in a 0.10 penalty when adjusting his scoring average. Jim Furyk won second place for his average of 69.3. According to PGA’s official website, “The adjusted score is computed from the average score of the field at each event.”

The PGA Tour has its own award for Player of the Year. Tour members may vote until November 30. McIlroy is expected to win that award as well. The winner will be announced in December. There is also a Rookie of the Year award.

McIlroy is the fourth youngest PGA Champion. The PGA Player of the Year was first introduced by the PGA of America in 1948. The winner is determined by a point system that considers professionals’ “tournament wins, official money standings, and scoring averages.”

The Vardon Trophy, named after British golfer Harry Vardon, has been awarded each year since 1937 to the touring professional with the lowest adjusted scoring average. To qualify, golfers must compete in a minimum 60 rounds with no incomplete rounds in events co-sponsored or designated by the PGA Tour.

McIlroy won the Honda Classic, PGA Championship, Deutsche Bank Championship, and the BMW Championship. These wins earned him 60 victory points and he earned another 20 points for his money earnings title. McIlroy picked up another 20 points for the adjusted scoring with a 68.87 average from the 60 required rounds.