Senior Hurling

Tribe to strong for Tipp
Galway 2-18 Tipperary 3-12

Galway got the win over Tipperary in a hard fought hurling contest when they had a dominating period in the second half when they outscored their rivals 0-09 to 0-02. It pushed them far enough in to the lead that their were able to withstand a late goal from Tipperary and still win by three. They had a 2-07 to 1-06 lead at the break with the midfielders Kieran Geary and Aiden Moylan grabbing the goals.

Expert free taking by Dave Ellis punished any indiscretions. Tipperary did have a good goal when Rory O’Rourke pulled to the net after a little indecisiveness at the back but Galway was able to react positively to it. While Tipperary had a very good opening to the second half with 1-05 to 0-03 which put them into the lead Galway then used their barrage of scores to secure the win.

Galway 1 Alan Whelan 2 Liam Butler 4 Matt Silk 5 Donal Keane 6 Michael Sexton 7 Tadgh O’Callaghan (0-01) 8 Kieran Geary (1-03) 9 Aiden Moylan (1-00) 10 Mickey Patterson 11 Dave Ellis (0-09) 12 David Russell 13 Glen Galvin 15 Aiden Roche (0-03) Subs Ryan Logue (0-01) Steve Moroney (0-01)

Tipperary 1 John Madden (0-01) 2 Conor Hayes 4 Sean Brennan 5 Kevin Fitzpatrick 6 Ray Maloney 7 Fintan Meehan 8 Conor Gough 9 Aaron Ryan 10 Colm Shannon 11 Gary Donaghue 12 Shane Quinn (0-04) 13 Damien Murray (0-06) 15 Dave Loughnane Subs Rory O’Rourke (2-00) John Cantwell (0-01) Michael McDonnell (1-00)

Man of the Match Aiden Roche (Galway)

Senior Football

Draw the card in battle

Tyrone 0-13 Leitrim 1-10

Leitrim and Tyrone went down to the wire before they settled for a draw with both sides having chances for the win at the end. Leitrim had a wonderful start with a 1-03 to 0-02 in the first fifteen minutes. The goal was a Paul O’Hara effort when he punched home after a goalmouth scramble resulted from a Dan Doona free.

Tyrone came back into the contest with the last six points of the first half with Justin McCaffrey getting two and getting fouled for two others. It left the side in front by two 0-08 to 1-03 at the break. Leitrim again started the half positive with three of the first four points in the second half and then followed a Justin McCaffrey score with points from John O’Neill and Kenny O’Connor. It had them at an advantage by the minimum 1-08 to 0-10.

The sides swapped four points with a Murtagh free coming after a tough call on Eoin O’Neill as he came out with the ball. Ronan Garvey did have a glorious chance for maybe a goal but certainly a point before Action Daniel Jackson fired over the equalizer with a minute left on the clock after a brilliant Justin McCaffrey delivery. 

Leitrim 1 Pa Ryan 2  John Goldrick (0-01) 3 Kieran Scannell 4 Alan Foley 5 Colm Cronin 6 Aiden O’Sullivan 7 Eoin O’Neill  8 Adrian O’Connor 9 Gary Driscoll 10 Paul O’Hara (1-00)11 Kenny O’Connor (0-01)12 Cian Tobin (0-02)13 John O’Neill (0-01)14 Dan Doona (0-03)15 Jamie Doolin (0-01) Subs Shane Sweeney (0-01)

Tyrone 1 Brian Cuilinane 2 Joe Bell 3 Gerard McCullough 4 Paul Mulherne 5 Daniel Jackson 6 Steve Keating 7 Seamus Skeffington 8 Aiden Power 9 Conor McNabb 10 Martin McCreesh 11 Jamie Donnelly (0-01)12 Brian Dillon 13 Justin McCaffrey 0-05)  14 John Murtagh (0-06) 15 Aiden McIlroy (0-01) Subs Ruiri Grant, Paul Reddy

Man of the Match Justin McCaffrey (Tyrone)

Referee John Fitzpatrick

Senior Football

Down have it all easy

Down 4-21 Sligo 1-12

The Down made short work of Sligo in this senior football contest as they had far too many weapons and as the second half unfolded they scored at will. They led at the break 1-09 to 0-06 with the goal a result of good work by Eddie Reilly before Brian Annett finished it.

hey had 1-03 in the first eight minutes of the second half with Kevin O’Rourke snatching the major as he reacted quickly after Pakie Downey blasted a shot that Mark Bourke did well to parry. Sligo did have 1-05 in a ten minute period as the game wound down but over the same time frame Down added 2-09 in a comprehensive victory that puts them back on top of the leader board in the New York senior division.

Sligo 1 Mark Bourke  2 Emmitt Marran 3 Paddy Brennan 4 Lee Dunne 5  Sean Harnan 6 Owen McHugh 7 Peter Kelly  8 Cathel Burns  9 Brian Kelly 10 Owen Martin  11 Peter Brennan   12 Colm Keane 13 Steve Kilcoyne  14 Joe Gannon  15 Martin Cocoman

Down 1 Mark Kelly 2 Brian Murray 3 John McCarthy 4 Barry Annett 5 Sean Fee  6 Brendan McGourty 7 Mark Dobbin 8 Alan O’Hara 9 Robbie Moran  10 Sean Munnelly 11 Liam Farrell 12 Brian Annett 13 Eddie O’Reilly 14 Pakie Downey 15 Kevin O’Rourke

Man of the Match Kevin O’Rourke

Referee Tommy Fahey