Intermediate Football Semi Final

Boyle goals the difference
Mayo 5-06 Astoria Gaels 0-10

Mayo used goals galore to clinch a place in the Intermediate football final with Ger O’Boyle unstoppable. The red haired corner forward chimed in with a sublime 4-04 from the minimum of chances and was unmarkable in open play when he was released. They opened the game with a goal from O’Boyle before Astoria answered with the next five points on the board. They were again felled by the storm that was O’Boyle however. He had two points before crashing in two goals as the half wound down. His final point of the half gave his side a 3-03 to 0-06 lead.

The team’s swapped points to open the second half Before Munnelly and Sweeney had points for Astoria. A two goal outburst in the tenth and twelfth minutes from Ger O’Boyle again, and Brendan Finn finally killed off the game and the final three points of the game were all cosmetic as Mayo marched forward to the final against Armagh.

Astoria:  1 Pa Ryan,2 Alan Foley 3 Peadar Stack, 4 Fergal Murphy 5 Niall McGuinness,6 Gary Cornyn 7 Joe Scully 8 Sean Kelly 9  Sean McQueeney (0-01)10 Mike Coyle 11  Shane Sweeney (0-03)12  Sean Munnelly (0-03)13 Kenneth Quirke (0-01)14  Derek McKenna 15  Conor Daly (0-02)  Subs  Nester Allen,

Mayo 1 Kieran Potter 2 Mike Donnelly 3 Alan Looney 4 John Holloway 5 Mike Burke 6 Conor O’Holloran 7 Dermot  Keane 8 Rory O’Neill 9 Michael Jennings  10Liam Clifford 11 Sean Galvin (0-01)12 Mike Creegan 13 Ronan O’Boyle 14 Glen Galvin  15 Ger O’Boyle (4-04) Subs Brendan Finn (1-00) Emmitt Cooney Dean Doherty 

Junior Final

Donegal are champions
Donegal 1-11 Monaghan 2-07

Donegal are the Charlie Sweeney Champions after a nerve wrecking final win over a determined Monaghan side. With Captain CJ Molloy scoring 1-05 including two sublime points in the final ten minutes they were more than deserving of the win. The sides exchanged three points to open the contest, Donegal the orthodox way while Monaghan had an excellent Pat Connolly goal when Paul McGlynn flicked to him.

onaghan added two Paul McGlynn scores to their total while Donegal were harshly not given a penalty when CJ Molloy was fouled. The same player did have a point from play to leave the scoreline after fifteen minutes 1-02 to 0-04 for Monaghan. Monaghan had their second goal when Brian O’Connor found the net when Fergal Mulvanney found him with a long range point but Donegal had the last three points of the half to get within one at the break, 2-02 to 0-07.

Donegal went into the lead with a clinical goal from CJ Molloy one minute into the second half but three consecutive points from Monaghan again changed the sway of the game. Donegal were on a mission however and Captain CJ was out in the middle of the field and doing a lot of damage. He was fouled for a free that Liam McGinley fired over before Anton Diver had a point when he soloed down the right wing. Two Monaghan points from Dessie Mallon and Paul McGlynn gave the side the lead for the last time. It was cancelled out by a free from close to the sideline by CJ Molloy and he went one better when he gave the side the lead and the victory with a towering fifty yard drive from another free.  

Monaghan 1 Pat Geherty 2  Ross Connolly 3 Bonnie Duffy  4 Naill McKenna 5 Caoimhin O’Callaghan 6 Donard Ferguson 7 Ross Connolly  8 Robbie O’Neill 9 Dessie Mallon (0-01)10 James Connolly 11 Brian O’Connor (1-01)12 Shane McKenna 13 Fergal Mulvanny 14 Pat Connolly (1-00)15 Paul McGlynn (0-05)

Donegal 1 Tony McMahon 2 Anton Toner 3 Colm Doherty 4 Brian Sweeney 5 Del Ferreira 6 Eamonn Gunn 7 Tommy Moran 8 Lorcan Freil 9 Cathel Green 10 Anthony Kelly 11 Derek Nolan (0-01)12 Mark Downes (0-01)13 Jack Donnelly 14 CJ Molloy (1-05)15 Liam McGinley (0-03) Subs Anton Diver (0-01) Kevin Lilly

Man of the Match CJ Molloy (Donegal)

Referee Brian Quinn

Intermediate Football Semi Final

Orchard Men move on
Armagh 2-10 Dublin 0-08

Armagh after a slow start was always in control of a game that had a decidedly physical element. How all fifteen stayed on the field is amazing but stay they did. The teams were on level terms after 19 minutes with both sides getting three scores. Armagh finished the half strongest however as they followed a Shane Carty point with four of their own. Before the break they had a goal when Johnny McGeeney found James Moynagh with a pass and the forward made no mistake from close range. The first half closed with a nasty element when a major row broke out but all the players retreated to their benches in the aftermath when they could have been a few early baths.

 Dublin added to their total with three points in the first ten minutes of the second half but they were cancelled out by three points for Armagh from Peter Hatzer, an excellent score, James Moynagh and a brilliant effort by Seamus Toner. Shane Carty did have his fifth point of the game but James Moynagh clinched the win with his second goal after Garth Kelly set him free. They now go on to meet Mayo in next weeks final at 2 pm.

Armagh 1 Donal Hearty 2 Eddie Greenan 3 Patsy Martin 4 Collie Fearan 5 Aiden Morton  6 Sean Kelly 7 Shane McKeever 8 Kevin McGeeney 9 John McGeeney (0-01) 10 Alan Hearty (0-01)11 Seamus Toner (0-03)12 James Moynagh (2-02)13 Peter Hatzer (0-02) 14 Garth Kelly 15 Shane Lyons Subs Shane Moore (0-01) Shane McKenna

Dublin 1 Ray Hennessy 2 Mike Furlong 3 Barry McKiernan 4 Sean McGrath 5 Collie Madden 6 Dominic McDonnell 7 Brian Wehalan  8 Declan Reilly  9 Kevin Dwyer 10 Conor Hunter 11 Shane Carty (0-05)12 Adam King 13 Phil Daly (0-01) 14 Alan Reilly 15 Dave Mooney (0-02) Subs Eoghan Loughnane

Man of the Match James Moynagh (Armagh)

Referee Sean Jones