Ladies Football

Peter Connaughton Final

Kerry/Donegal 1-16 Fermanagh 2-05

 The Peter Connaughton Champions for 2010 are Kerry/Donegal as they used a dominating second half display to clinch the trophy. The side had a brilliant opening to the game when they had 1-05 after a Fermanagh opening Caroline Murphy score. The goal arrived in the fifth minute from Clare Hannon when she fired her shot powerfully to the net. Hannon also had two of the points. The sides swapped four points before Fermanagh had their best period of the contest. An Aisling Gormally point preceded two quick goals from sub Brianna Coyle and Loretta Cunningham before Denise Dunnion pointed which made the halftime score 2-03 to 1-07 for the winners. A point scoring avalanche in the second half gave the Cup to the winners. They answered a Loretta Cunningham point in the first minute with five in a row and then followed an Aisling Gormally score with a further four to easily run out winners. 

 The winners had stars in Benny Touhy who made a couple of good saves when needed. Louise Lilly, Michelle McVann who were tenacious up the middle, Catherina Brady who did not score but did a lot of work. Up front Ali Kelly, Sarah Grealis and Denise Dunnion who was outstanding were their main threats. Fermanagh had Donna Traynor who could not be faulted, Tracy Ann McCullough, Loretta Cunningham and Erin Galligan as their most prominent. 

 Fermanagh 1 Donna Traynor 2 Nooleen Fitzpatrick 3 Tracy Ann McCullough 4 Christina Brown  5 Ann Marie Kelly 6 Caroline McArdle 7 Siobhan McCourt 8 Roisin Toner   9 Caitlin Slattery 10 Aisling Gormaly (0-02)11  Caroline Murphy (0-01) 12 Ashling O’Sullivan  13 Loretta Cunningham (1-01)14 Erin Galligan (0-01)15 Saoirse Finnigan Subs Brianna Coyle (1-00) 

Kerry/Donegal 1 Benny Touhy 2 Jenny Moran 3 Una Burke 4 Cathleen Enright 5 Kelly Roche 6 Louise Lilly 7 Naimh Britton 8 Michelle McVann 9 Catherina Brady 10 Anita McKenna 11 Ali Kelly 12 Sarah Grealis (0-03)13 Denise Dunnion (0-08) 14 Clare Hannon (1-03)15 Marie Cassels Subs Thea Clarke Carol Herlihy

Player of the Game Denise Dunnion (Kerry/Donegal)

Referee Dean O’Connor

Senior Hurling Semi Final

Tipp coast home
Tipperary 2-18 Galway 0-11

 Tipperary had too many weapons for Galway as they coasted to the final where they will meet Offaly next week. They had 1-05 to 0-02 in the first 15 minutes with the goal coming from Damien Murray after he was set free by Damien Hayes. Shane Quinn was taking the frees at this point which was a change of pace as Murray was the usual sniper. Galway did have a goal chance but John Madden made a pair of easy save. Galway did have four points from Kevin Keehan frees as the half arrived in a game that was not dirty but Tipperary had three at the other end from Ray Maloney a long range effort and two further Quinn scores. While Galway had two of the first three scores in the second half and indeed dominated the opening ten minutes their were unable too get the goal that they so badly began to need. Tipperary with defensive stands by Ger Mahon and Ray Maloney stopped anything further developing and their forwards rattled off eight of the next nine points. Damien Murray was now in charge of the free taking and he was clinical. After Galway’s last hurrah, a brace of Aiden Roche points, Tipperary had their second goal a gem when Damien Hayes flicked expertly to Murray who had the easy task of slapping the ball home.

Galway 1 Alan Whelan 2 Barry Aird 4 Shane Kavanagh 5 Thomas Maher 6 Michael Sexton 7 Tadgh O’Callaghan  8 Liam Butler   9 Aiden Moylan  10 Aiden Roche (0-04) 11 Kevin Keehan (0-05) 12 Matt Silke 13 David Russell 15 Dave Ellis (0-01) Subs Stephen O’Neill (0-01)  

Tipperary 1 John Madden 2 Conor Hayes 4 Ger Mahon 5 Ray Maloney (0-02) 6 Shane McDermott 7 Shane Stapleton 8 Conor Gough 9 Dave Loughnane (0-01)10 Aaron Ryan 11 Paul Loughnane (0-03) 12 Shane Quinn (0-08) 13 Damien Murray (2-03) 15 Damien Hayes (0-01) Subs Rory O’Rourke John Cantwell Michael McDonnell

Man of the Match Damien Murray (Tipperary)

Referee Brendan Cagney

Senior Football

Down have easy Sunday
Down 2-11 Kerry 0-06

 Down followed the hurlers of Tipperary with an easy victory as they used a dominating second half showing to roll home. While they had a low scoring first half, they were 1-03 to 0-03 up at the break. They exploded in the second half with 1-07 to a Dermot Lyng Kerry point to kill the game as a contest. The goals came from Kevin O’Rourke in the first half and Brian Annett a cracker in the second. Eddie O’Reilly was active throughout the contest showing constantly in front off his man while Kevin O’Rourke was also to the fore to his right. The man of the match however was John McCarthy who was tremendous at full back. When in possession he stormed out from the back and linked time and again with his teammates as he went forward. He also contributed a point in the scoring. The only real chance for Kerry for the goal they so badly needed was saved by mark Kelly when Bingo Driscoll came in on goal. Down are now locked in as the number one seed in the senior football division.

Down 1 Mark Kelly 2 Brian Murray 3 John McCarthy 4 Dermot Hayes 5 Barry Annett   6 Brendan McGourty 7 Kevin McGourty (0-04)8 Alan O’Hara (0-01)9 Robbie Moran 10 Sean Munnelly 11 Mark Dobbins 12 Sean Kelly 13 Brian Annette (1-00)14 Eddie O’Reilly (0-04)15 Kevin O’Rourke (1-02) Subs Terrance Flynn Mike Sheridan

Kerry 1 Martin O’Connor  2 Kieran Quirke 3 Shane Enright   4 Naill Corbett 5 Eoghan O’Mahoney 6 Paul McGirl 7 Ryan O’Sullivan  8 Vinnie Gavin (0-02)9 Dermot Lyng (0-01)10 Bingo Driscoll  11 Dan Donnelly 12 Dermie Foley 13 Paddy Curtain 14 Paul O’Connor (0-02) 15 Darren Courtney Subs Gary Culhane (0-01)

Man of the Match John McCarthy (Down)

 Referee Lawrence McGrath  

Senior Football

Rebel with a cause
Cork 4-23 Donegal 0-06

Cork went to town on an out of sorts Donegal outfit who were missing quite a few players and ended with a 29 point victory after the hour. Ten different scorers with Ger McCullough leading the way with 1-09 not only put Donegal to the sword but diced them and sliced them apart. Two of the goals were excellent, the third a deflection of a diving Brian McCaffrey who could not be faulted while the last could easily have been fisted over the bar as their was absolutely no need for it at that point. The side had a 1-14 to 0-04 at the break and they continued to score at will despite clearing their bench of all substitutes. Donegal’s few highlights were keeper McCaffrey and Ciaran Tavey up front who did what he could with the service he was supplied with.

Cork1 Gary Lowney 2 Denis McCarthy 3 Alan Rafferty 4 Jonathon McDermott 5 Brian Argue (0-01) 6 Steve Garvey 7 Conor Doherty   8 Brendan Quigley (1-02) 9 Sean Lordon (0-01) 10 Francie Cleary (0-02) 11 Gavin McIntire (0-02) 12 Ger McCullough (1-09) 13 Benny Reilly (0-01) 14 Jason Kelly 15 Padraig McMahon  (1-03) Subs Sean Purcell (0-01) Declan Reilly (1-00) Rory Stafford, Ronan Caffrey

Donegal 1 Brian McCaffrey 2 Simon Gillespie  3 Mark Downes 4 Anthony Kelly 5 Ray Keenan 6 PJ Flanagan 7 Del Ferrara 8 Darren Strong (0-01) 9 Tom Hardwick  10 Fergal Delaney 11 Brian O’Connor 12 Michael Mone (0-01) 13 CJ Molloy 14  Neill Danaher  15 Ciaran Tavey  Subs Paul Nolan 

Player of the game Ger McCullough

Referee Tommy Fahey