Junior Quarter Final
Jeff Farrell’s firepower enough for Westmeath

Westmeath 3-12 Rockland 1-09

Westmeath used a dominant second half display to overpower Rockland and qualify for a semifinal meeting with Celtics next week. The sides were level twice in the first half before a second Westmeath goal coming from the boot of Darren Petit pushed the winners ahead. It arrived after a defensive chance to clear was fouled for the ultimate punishment. The score of the game came afterwards, when Vinnie Gavin found Jeff Farrell with a perfect sideline and the man of the match full forward drilled high and over. While both sides had points to open the second half, Westmeath then took a hold of the game with two points from Lilly, a beauty, and Farrell before Farrell crashed a shot of the cross bar. He then got on the end of a long Nester Allen pass to flick to the net and effectively fill the game off as a contest. Pat Guerin had two points before the final whistle for Rockland but a goal never looked like happening.  

Westmeath 1 Jimmy Higgins 2  Dave Russell 3 Danny Noone 4 Dean O’Donnell 5 Steve Keating 6 Keith Scully 7 Ray Keenan 8 Vinnie Gavin 9 Darren Petit (1-00) 10  Nester Allen (0-01)11 James Stones (0-01)12 Paul Mulherne (0-01)13 Kevin Lilly (0-02)14 Jeff Farrell (2-06) 15 John McMahon Sub Anton Kelly (0-01)

Rockland 1 Chris Clarke 2 Conor Teehan 3 Marcus Fitzgerald 4 Declan Neville 5 Sean McGrath 6 Jimmy O’Flynn 7 Brendan Fennell 8 Paul Heaney (0-02)9 Nick Mangan 10 Cormac McClaren (0-01)11 Sean Roche (0-03)12 Pat Sweeney 13 Mike Keane (0-01)14 Shane Hanley 15 Pat Keane (1-00) Sub Pat Guerin (0-02)

Man of the Match Jeff Farrell (Westmeath)

Referee Tom Fahey

Junior B Final
Brooklyn’s in the winning House

Brooklyn 1-23 St Patrick’s 0-05

Brooklyn won the Junior B title with a convincing victory that was backboned by a 9 point performance by Kevin Connolly. It was a balanced attack with nine players getting on the score sheet. Bobby McGee and Cathel O’Grady were sharp shooting forwards who always had a head for the posts. St Pats battled throughout with Justin O’Halloran a contender for man of the match. They were however never able to create the chances that were needed to trouble the winners. After St Pats had four of the first five points of the second half, Brooklyn had a cascade of scores eleven in total, to punctuate the first title win in 22 years for the club.

St Patrick’s New Haven 1 P Coyle 2 P Barton 3 T Quinn 4 D Reilly 5 Sean Coyle 6 J Stowles (0-02)7 Paul Coyle 8 J Conway 9 L Coyle 10 J O’Halloran (0-02)11 J McKeon 12 M Coyle 13 M O’Connor 14 P Maher 15 S Collins (0-01)

Brooklyn Shamrocks 1 Paddy Connolly 2 Tyler Keenaghan 3 Enda Lally 14 Jamie Lally 5 Adrian McKeever 6 Red McGuinness 7 Ryan Donnelly (0-01)8 Kevin Connolly (0-09) 9 Martin Keenaghan (0-01)10 Bobby McGee (0-04)11 Frankie Cassidy (0-03)12 Declan McAleer 13 Connell Burns (1-01)14 Cathel O’Grady (0-03)15 David Ferris (0-01) Subs Harry McKeever (0-01)

Man of the Match Kevin Connolly (Brooklyn)

Referee Martin O’Connor

Intermediate Semi Final
Burke the Donegal Star

Donegal 3-12 Monaghan 0-13

Monaghan were not able to combat the brilliant play of the two pronged attacking monster of Justin Burke and James Moynagh who combined to score 3-09 in a brilliant performance. Burke punished from frees while Moynagh was lethal from play. The goals came one in the first half and two in the second all finished clinically. Monaghan had the lead to open the game but a 7 points to 2 run put Donegal in the driving seat. When Moynagh had the first goal after 22 minutes the writing was on the wall. They were ahead 1-09 to 0-07 at the break and withstood a second yellow card for CJ Molloy ten minutes into the second half. They followed this with a brace of goals, the first when Burke finished a long ball pass by driving to the net, the second a Moynagh gem. When Brian Cuilinane saved a Dave Harvey penalty when Dessie Mallon was fouled the victory was secure.

Donegal 1 Brian Cullinan 2 Naill McMahon 3 John Fitzgerald 4 Mike Molloy 5 Conor Classen 6 Tommy Moran 7 Peter McNeilus (0-01)8 Alan Molloy 9 Sean Reilly 10 Mickey Annette 11 Brian Givney 12 Justin Burke (1-05)13 James Moynagh (2-04)14 CJ Molloy (0-01)15 PJ Flanagan Subs Del Ferreira Sean McGivney (0-01)

Monaghan 1 Robbie O’Neill 2 Brian Murray 3 Mike O’Regan 4 Naill McKenna 5 Mark McCaughey (0-01)6 Bonnie Duffy 7 Karl O’Connell (0-01)8 Dessie Mallon 9 Brendan Finn (0-02)10 Kenneth Quirke (0-01)11 Sean Munnelly 12 Caoimhin O’Callaghan 13 Ross Connolly 14 James Connolly (0-07)15 Dave Harvey  Subs Sean McMullan (0-01) Brian Annett Sean Carbin

Man of the Match Justin Burke (Donegal)

Referee Alan Hearty 

Intermediate Semi Final

Horan leads in One Direction

Rangers 2-16 Kerry 0-06

While Naill Horan is the One Direction star, Shane led his side in the direction of the county intermediate final with a brilliant display on the forty for Rangers on Sunday. While Kerry had the first point of the game, Rangers replied with 2-01 in five minutes with Horan grapping the second. Kerry did have three of the next four scores but Rangers finished the first half strong with a further three points.

hey followed another O’Leary point to open the second half with ten consecutive points. Horan started and finished that burst while seven other players also got on the score sheet to show the diversified talents of Denis Twomeys side. Kerry was missing a number of players from the regular season and were always chasing the game against a side that will have no fears in the county final next week against Donegal.

Kerry 1 Ger O’Sullivan 2 Danny Kennelly 3 Donald Walsh 4 Mike Lenihan 5 Thomas O’Brien 6 Shane Coffey 7 Dave Langan 8 Darren Walsh 9 Richie Hartnett 10 John Brennan (0-01)11 Conor Mulvihill 12 Kieran O’Shea 13 Conor O’Leary (0-03) 14 Naill Walsh (0-02)15 Mike McKenna Subs Brian Newman, Ger Mason, Seamus Driscoll

Rangers 1 Mike Sheridan 2 Mal McHugh 3 Donnacha O’Dwyer 4 Alan Carr (0-02) 5 Derek Courtney 6 Liam Hanley 7 Ben Logan 8 Dan Lehane 9 Brian Hanamy (0-02)10 Kevin Daly (0-02)11 Shane Horan (1-04)12 Conor Hunter (0-02)13 Ronan Caffrey (1-02)14 Steven O’Shea (0-01) 15 Adrian Tusifi (0-01) Subs Mike McCarthy, Ian Kennedy, Sean Monaghan 

Man of the Match Shane Horan (Rangers)

Referee John Fitzpatrick

North American GAA celebrated at Philadelphia competitionGoogle Images