Junior Knockout Final

Celtics 4-14 St Barnabas 1-16

The John Joe McGovern final went down to the wire with extra time needed before the Celtics took the title with a late two goal burst. The sides were level a number of times and both sides had chances to take control and win it. It was 1-07 to 1-05 at the break with both sides having excellent scores in that period. While Shan Flanagan had the first goal of the game it was Richie Morgan’s net shaker with minutes left that pushed Celtics into the lead. After two Celtics points to open the half, St Barnabas had a brilliant run. They had five points in a row with Conor Hogan in a good performance getting two. The game seemed to be slipping away on Danny O’Sullivan's side but Richie Morgan and Dean McSweeney sent the game into extra time with important scores. The first ten minute period was all Saints but they did not put that dominance on the scoreboard. A Kevin Tracey goal also proved critical for Celtics. While Barnabas drew level with Hogan and McGovern points in the final ten minutes, goals from man of the match Morgan and McDermott to clinch the win.

St Barnabas 1 matt Shuemacker 2 Naill Croke 4 Frankie McDermott 5 James Mullin 6 Conor Hogan 7 Brian McGovern 8 Shane O’Neill 9 Brian Dennehy 10 Shane Hogan 11 Pat Maguire 12 Thomas McGovern 13 Conor Flanagan 15 Shane Flanagan

Celtics 1 Kevin McArdle 2 Rory Creegan 4 Ger McCullough 5 Kiefer Roche 6 Sam Yore 7 Darren McDermott 8 Gary Nugent 9 Derek McKenna 10 Kevin Tracey 11 Kenny Cox 12 Liam Canty 13 Richie Morgan 15 Dean McSweeney

Referee Brian Quinn

Tough win for Kerry

Ned Devine Final

Kerry 0-15 Leitrim 0-12

The Ned Devine Cup heads for the Kingdom after a physical contest where they fired over the first five points of the game and the last three. The opening salvo left the side in a dominating lead but the game then became very physical with at least four players very lucky to stay on the field. Leitrim started to claw their way back and they had four of f the next five points with Rory Woods firing two of them over with excellent drives. After an Eoin Hogan point Leitrim then had the final two points of the half to get the break within one at 7 to 6. Leitrim continued their good form with four of the first five points of the second half. Donal Hartnett with a free, Doona with a tremendous drive from the right wing and Paddy Kelly who was coming into the game. Kerry responded however with their second dominant period of the contest with four unanswered scores. Three came from subs Curran, Foley and Walsh as the use of the Kerry bench started to pay dividends. Leitrim had two fifty yard frees from Donal Hartnett but Kerry then finished the game with three points with CJ Molloy putting the icing on the cake with a free at the end.

Leitrim 1 Pa Ryan 2 Darren Walsh 4 Lonon Maguire 5 Peter Fahey 6 Willie Milner 7 Emmitt Killeen 8 Ray O’Connor 9 Paddy Kelly 10 Mike Creegan 11 Rory Woods 12 Dan Doona 13 Kenny O’Connor 15 Donal Hartnett

Kerry 1 Shane Clifford 2 Kieran Scannell 4 James Huvane 5 Sean Kelly 6 Michael Nester 7 Darren Courtney 8 Mike Jim Fitzgerald 9 Padraig King 10 Ross Donavan 11 Eoin Hogan 12 Robbie Moran 13 CJ Molloy 15 Darren Moore

Referee Brendan Moran

Rangers title in a tight contest

Charlie Sweeney Cup Final

Rangers 1-16 Donegal 1-13

The final Rangers took the Charlie Sweeney title with a hard fought win over a dogged Donegal side in an entertaining contest. They withstood a storming Donegal start when they had a goal after 28 seconds and added six points against four for Rangers. James Moynagh had three of those scores while Mickey Annett blasted the goal. Rangers finally started to get to grips with their opponents in the final ten minutes. Conor Hunter had two towering points while Ronan Caffrey followed a Shane Horan score with two points and a clinically finished goal. They added two points in the opening minutes of the second half before James Moynagh had three successive scores and Vinnie Gavin from the kickout fired over to move into the lead 1-12 to 1-11. Rangers again had a wave of scores however to take the win. Kevin Daly with two excellent points on the run, Brian Twomey, Caffrey and Liam Hanley followed and cancelled out a Kieran Tavey point from the wing.

Donegal 1 Brian Cuilinane 2 Liam McMahon 4 John Fitzgerald 5 Kieran Tavey 6 Eamonn Gunn 7 Mike Molloy 8 Vinnie Gavin 9 Alan Molloy 10 Sean McGivney 11 PJ Flanagan 12 Mickey Annett 13 CJ Molloy 15 James Moynagh

Rangers 1 Mike Sheridan 2 Malachey McHugh 4 Donnacha O’Dwyer 5 Alan Carr 6 Liam Hanley 7 Ben Logan 8 Derek Courtney 9 John Power 10 Kevin Daly 11 Shane Horan 12 Conor Hunter 13 Ronan Caffrey 15 Mike McCarthy

Referee Alan Hearty

Gaelic Park, the Bronx, New York