David Wallace and Alun-Wyn Jones will both start for The British & Irish Lions in Saturday's first Test against South Africa in Durban.

Wallace has beaten off competition from Martyn Williams, who has been named on the bench, to claim the number seven jersey. The Munster man will be joined in the back row by Tom Croft, who will start at blindside flanker despite missing out on inclusion in the original squad, and Leinster number eight Jamie Heaslip.

Jones, meanwhile, has been paired with Lions captain Paul O'Connell in the second row in spite of the fact that there had been concerns over whether the two could play together.

In the front row, Gethin Jenkins has been preferred to Andrew Sheridan at loose-head. As expected, Lee Mears will start at hooker, with Phil Vickery at tight-head.

There are no surprises in the back-line, with the only close call going the way of Stephen Jones, who gets the nod at number ten ahead of Ronan O'Gara.

Jones will be joined in the half-backs by his Welsh compatriot Mike Phillips.

In-form centers Brian O'Driscoll and Jamie Roberts will team up together in midfield for the third time on Tour, while Tommy Bowe and Ugo Monye will start either side of Lee Byrne in the back three.

Lions boss Ian McGeechan commented: "The Test team has been picked on form following the six provincial matches. There were some very difficult calls to make as the players as a group and individually have done everything that we have asked of them and performed on the field."

As for the bench, Matthew Rees will, as expected, act as cover for Mears but the selection of Adam Jones as the reserve prop ahead of Sheridan is somewhat surprising.

The absence of the versatile Nathan Hines from the bench will also raise eyebrows, with Donncha O'Callaghan the man selected as cover for the second rows.

Ellis and O'Gara provide cover for the half-backs, while Rob Kearney has been entrusted with the number 22 jersey.

British & Irish Lions: L Byrne; T Bowe, B O’Driscoll, J Roberts, U Monye; S Jones, M Phillips; G Jenkins, L Mears, P Vickery; A-W Jones, P O’Connell (capt); T Croft, D Wallace, J Heaslip.

Replacements: M Rees, A Jones, D O'Callaghan, M Williams, H Ellis, R O'Gara, R Kearney.