Chelsea claimed the 2009-2010 Premier League title after defeating Wigan 8-0 at Stamford Bridge.

The London team was one point ahead of nearest rivals Manchester United going into the day’s play, but their win over The Latics ensured nothing the Red Devils did would change the outcome.

Nicolas Anelka opened the scoring after six minutes and the title was more or less sealed when Chris Caldwell saw red for bringing Frank Lampard down in the box in the 32nd minute.

Lampard dusted himself off to score the penalty to leave his side 2-0 up playing against 10 men.

The second half was a procession for the champions elect with Kalou (54’) and Anelka (56’) adding further goals before a Drogba hat-trick (a header in the 63rd minute, a penalty five minutes later and a left-footed finish in the 80th minute) made it seven.

With the three goals, Drogba took his season’s tally to 29, enough to win the Golden Boot over Wayne Rooney, who scored 26 times for United.

Ashley Cole capped the day for his team when he scored in the 89th minute to leave the final score 8-0.

For the record, Manchester United beat Stoke City 4-0, with goals from Fletcher, Giggs, an own goal from Danny Higginbotham and a goal from Park sealing the win.

Chelsea’s Didier Drogba