Maeve Binchy, Ireland's beloved bestselling novelist, will be presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award at this year's Irish Book Awards.

Binchy, who turned 70 this year, is arguably Ireland's most popular novelist of all time.

Although Binchy claimed she had retired several years ago, in fact she is still writing and her latest novel is already an international bestseller.

Binchy's award was announced on Thursday as the shortlists for the Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards 2010 were revealed.

Other Irish authors nominated in yesterdays announcements included novelists Colum McCann, Colm Toibin, Cathy Kelly, Cecelia Ahern, Joseph O'Connor, newcomer Amy Huberman and children's author John Boyne.

The eventual winners will be determined by public vote and with guidance by literary experts. The public can vote for their favorite author on the website