Enda Kenny, leader of the Fine Gael Party has announced the new line-up for front bench of the party. His new front bench team set to lead the party in the upcoming General Elections include three from the group of rebels who declared a vote of no confidence against the leader and Richard Bruton.

Mr Kenny announced the new line-up, claiming they would lead the party into a General Election battle in the next 12 months.
Of the group of rebels involved in the incident two weeks ago Richard Bruton remains on, now as Enterprise, Jobs and Economic Planning spokesperson. Also remaining on the front bench are  Fergus O’Dowd on Education and Skills, Simon Conveney on Transport and Leo Varadkar on Communications and Natural Resources.

Enda Kenny had fired Richard Bruton from his position as Deputy Leader and spokeperson on Finance when Richard Bruton proposed a motion of no confidence in the leader. The position of Deputy Leader now goes to Dublin North TD Dr James Reilly.
Making the announcement Mr Kenny said “Fine Gael is united and focused on the major challenge facing the party and the country.

That challenge is to replace this disastrous Government with a better alternative that will get our people back to work and our country back on track.”

Of his choice for front benchers he said, “They all share the same goal for Fine Gael: to win the next election and implement our radical plans to transform our public services, our political system, and crucially to get our people back to work.
“We have the policies and today the public see that we have the team to achieve that shared goal.”

New Fine Gael front bench:

Enda Kenny:          Leader
Sean Barrett:          Foreign Affairs  (formerly held by Billy Timmins)
Richard Bruton:       Enterprise, Jobs & Economic Planning  (formerly held by Leo Varadkar)
Catherine Byrne:     Older Citizens
Simon Coveney:      Transport  (formerly held by Fergus O'Dowd)
Deirdre Clune:         Innovation & Research
Jimmy Deenihan:    Tourism, Culture & Sport  (formerly held by Olivia Mitchell)
Andrew Doyle:        Agriculture, Fisheries & Food  (formerly held by Michael Creed)
Frank Feighan:       Community, Equality & Gaeltacht Affairs  (formerly held by Michael Ring)
Charlie Flanagan :  Children  (formerly held by Alan Shatter)
Phil Hogan:            Environment, Heritage & Local Government
Paul Kehoe:           Chief Whip
Michael Noonan:     Finance  (formerly Richard Bruton)
Fergus O’Dowd:      Education & Skills  (formerly Brian Hayes)
John Perry:             Small Business
James Reilly:          Deputy Leader & Health & Children
Michael Ring:          Social Protection  (formerly Olwyn Enright)
Alan Shatter:           Justice & Law Reform  (formerly Charlie Flanagan)
David Stanton:         Defence  (formerly Jimmy Deenihan)
Leo Varadkar:          Communications & Natural Resources  (formerly Simon Coveney)
Frances Fitzgerald:  Leader in Seanad

Richard Bruton