The annual Kendall Wanderers FC Golf Outing took place on August 2, and it proved to be as successful a day as the club has become accustomed to.

Newton Commonwealth Golf Club was the venue again this year, and the course was in fine condition as 18 teams competed in a four-ball scramble event.

It was a nippy day by New England in August standards, but the rain held off for the most part and in many ways we were treated to ideal golfing conditions.

Rowan McFeely was the captain of the winning team in 2013, and he duly returned the trophy before the off.

Nobert Guery was the captain of the first team out, and he and his team-mates blazed a trail that no other team was able to follow. The Frenchman’s outfit came home at 10 under, and they would claim several of the other prizes as well.

The other competitions included Longest Drive, Closest to the Pin and Bring Your Ball Home.

Overall winners: Norbert Guery, Sean Kaukas, Robbie Sabadoz, Dave Newell

Second place: Johnny Kilpatrick, David Leech, Chris Pearce, Andy Fleet

First after handicap: Johnny Kilpatrick, David Leech, Chris Pearce, Andy Fleet

Longest Drive (Men’s): Dave Newell

Longest Drive (Women’s): Nicole Bates

Closest to the Pin Winners: Robbie Sabadoz, Sean Kaukas, Lar Barden

Bring Your Team Ball Home: Dave Sheehan, Dave Lambert, David Joyce, Peter Denham

Kendall Wanderers would like to sincerely thank everyone who competed in the outing, and the 18 companies who sponsored the event. Our sponsors’ financial support is crucial to our efforts to keep five teams competing in the BSSL and NEOTHSL.

The post-course festivities were held at Devlin’s in Brighton, and the food and refreshments were top notch as usual.

After the golf prizes had been handed out, there was a special ceremony to induct Dennis Cunningham into the Kendall Hall of Fame. The only other two Hall of Famers, Mike Tallon and Chris Craven, were on hand to welcome the latest recruit to their ranks.

Dennis joined the club in the mid-1990s, and has served as a player, manager and board member during his time with the Kendall. He is even credited with drawing up the club’s by-laws!

Congratulations to Dennis on receiving this honor, and hope that he will be an integral member of the club for many years to come.