This Saint Patrick’s Day will see the broadcast of a very special programme which is dedicated to Irish culture, Irish creativity and its reach and impact across the world.

Last month, Irish writers, musicians, singers and emerging artists were invited to the President’s home at Áras an Uachtaráin in Dublin to record special sessions of music, drama, poetry and conversation in celebration of the Irish worldwide.

Glaoch will feature performances by such well known faces as Christy Moore, Glen Hansard, Lisa Hannigan, Imelda May, The Script, Róisin O, Steve Cooney, Martin Hayes, Peadar O’Riada, David Power and Iarla O’ Lionaird, RTÉ reveals. The programme will also show President Higgins in conversation with Bono, Seamus Heaney, Druid Theatre’s Garry Hynes, playwright Tom Murphy, and singer Christy Moore. Actress Carey Mulligan and writer Joseph O’Connor will also perform.

Glaoch is in partnership with RTÉ and The Gathering Ireland 2013 and calls out to Irish people everywhere to embrace their “Irishness”. The reports that President Higgins expressed his gratitude to the participating artists, saying:

"I am very grateful to all the artists who responded so positively to my invitation to be part of this worldwide call to Irish people to celebrate an Irishness of which we can all be proud.”

"Throughout our history, literature, music and art have been a source of great strength, have helped us cope with adversity, have not only soothed the loss which they described so well but also opened the space for new possibilities of renewal and change and created joy.

"I hope the programme will encourage Irish people everywhere to engage with the valuable resource that is our culture, to look to our creative possibilities and to project our Irishness into the world in the positive way that has been the achievement of our artists and cultural workers."

Glaoch - The President’s Call will be broadcast on St. Patrick’s Day, 17 March at 9:30 p.m. GMT on, RTÉ News Now and RTÉ YouTube and will be repeated on 18 March on RTÉ One, RTÉ Two and RTÉ Radio 1 Extra.