IrishCentral’s guide to the history of the Eurovision: Click here

Photo gallery of Eurovision stars: Click here

Ireland failed to bring the kitsch and camp in this year’s Eurovision Song Contest: the seven-time Eurovision champs have failed to qualify for Saturday’s final.

The nation’s pop-rock girl band Sinead Mulvey and Black Daisy with their song, “Et Cetera,” didn’t make the cut on Thursday in the semi-finals, in which 10 out of the 19 acts were chosen to move on to the finals in Moscow.

This is the second year in a row that Ireland has missed out on the championships. Last year, the nation’s comic entry, puppet Dustin the Turkey, didn’t impress voters either.

The Irish were not completely shut out of the 2009 Eurovision finals – Denmark’s song, “Believe Again,” which made the top 10, was co-written by Irish Boyzone star Ronan Keating.

A total of 25 entries will compete on Saturday night for the title, including fan favorite Azerbaijan’s fiery, Middle Eastern-themed performance of “Always,” and the much-buzzed about Britain’s entry “It’s My Time,” composed by Andrew Lloyd Webber.

Over 100 million people, from Europe to the Middle East, will tune in for the Eurovision this year.