Cillian Murphy has won Best Actor at the Screen Actors Guild (SAG) Awards for his performance in "Oppenheimer."

Christopher Nolan's biopic dominated at the SAG Awards on Saturday night ahead of the Academy Awards on March 10, with Cillian Murphy winning Best Actor, Robert Downey Jr. winning Best Supporting Actor, and the "Oppenheimer" cast winning the award for Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture. 

The SAG Awards took place in the Shrine Auditorium and Expo Hall in Los Angeles on Saturday night, February 24 following the longest SAG-Aftra strike in history, with a number of remarks about the strike peppered throughout the evening. 

Speaking after winning Best Actor, Murphy said being a SAG member made him feel like he was part of "something wonderful."

"28 years ago when I was trying to become an actor, I was a failed musician and I felt extremely like an interloper, but now looking out at you guys here today, I know I am part of something truly wonderful, so thank you," Murphy said on Saturday evening. 

Kenneth Branagh, who plays physicist Niels Bohr in Nolan's blockbuster, accepted the Outstanding Cast award on behalf of the "Oppenheimer" cast and described the award as a "full-circle moment."

Branagh thanked all SAG-Aftra members for their support and sacrifices during the strike last year. 

"Thank you SAG-Aftra, thank you for fighting for us," he said. "Thank you to every SAG-Aftra member whose support and whose sacrifice allows us to be standing here, better than we were before," Branagh said on Saturday.

"When we were all last together, it was at the premiere of this film on July 14 when the strike was just about to begin, led by our fearless leader, the great Cillian Murphy.

"We went from the red carpet and we didn’t see the film that night. We happily went in the direction of solidarity with your good selves.

"So this is a full circle moment for us.

"We are grateful and humbled and proud not just to be in Mr Nolan's masterpiece, but proud to be in your company." 

Elsewhere, Lily Gladstone scooped the Best Actress award for her performance in Martin Scorcese's "Killers of the Flower Moon," with Da'Vine Joy Randolph taking the Best Actress Award for her performance in "The Holdovers."

"Mission: Impossible - Dead Reckoning Part One" took home the award for Best Stunt Ensemble in a Motion Picture, while Pedro Pascal won the award for Best Actor in a Drama Series for his performance in "The Last of Us."

"This is wrong for a number of reasons, I’m a little drunk, I thought I could get drunk. I’m making a fool of myself, but thank you so much for this," a visibly shocked Pascal told the audience. 

Comedy-drama series "The Bear" also enjoyed a strong night at the SAG Awards, with Jeremy Allen White and Ayo Edebiri winning Best Actor and Best Actress in a Comedy Series respectively. The hugely popular series also took home the award for Best Ensemble Cast in a Comedy Series, while "Succession" took home the award in the drama series category. 

Meanwhile, Elizabeth Debicki took home the Best Actress award for her performance in "The Crown."