Jennifer Garner, Jesse Eisenberg, Beyoncé Knowles, Jennifer Lawrence, Bradley Cooper, Russell Brand, Ellen Page, Mila Kunis and 170 other celebrities have been invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, the group who give out the Academy Awards every year.

Academy President Tom Sherak said in a statement "These individuals are among the best filmmakers working in the industry today. Their talent and creativity have entertained moviegoers around the world, and I welcome each of them to our ranks."

Some of this year's break-out acting nominees made the cut, including Eisenberg, incoming “Hunger Games” hero Jennifer Lawrence, her “Winter's Bone” costar John Hawkes, and “Animal Kingdom's” Jacki Weaver.



Visit Bradley Cooper's profile page

Beyonce gives ‘Riverdance’ a new twist in new music video

Top ten Irish-American Oscar winners of all time - SEE PHOTOS


Rooney Mara, Mia Wasikowska, Rosemarie DeWitt, Nastassja Kinski, Téa Leoni, Lesley Manville and Connie Nielsen also make for lovely additions to the group, while Gerard Butler, David Duchovny, “Avatar's” Wes Studi, Peter Dinklage, Thomas Jane, John Corbett, Robbie Coltrane and Vincent Cassel round out the hunky male section.

Sadly Tim Hetherington, the documentary filmmaker, received a posthumous invite. He was killed in April while covering the unrest in Libya.

Directors of some big movies over the past year also made the cut including “The Kids Are All Right” helmer Lisa Cholodenko and Tom Hooper, who scored the big win in February for “The King's Speech”.