Portumna defeated De La Salle by 2-24 to 1-08 in a lopsided AIB All Ireland Senior Club Hurling final at GAA Headquarters at Croke Park in Dublin.

In doing so, the Galway side retained the title they won twelve months ago and extended the misery for Waterford teams in All-Ireland Finals. Like the county team’s capitulation to Kilkenny in the All Ireland Final last September, De La Salle were out of this contest well before half-time. 

Portumna’s man of the match Damien Hayes bagged two goals and Joe Canning chipped in with frees to see the Galway men lead 2-11 to 0-3 at the interval.  Though De la Salle was more competitive in the second half, the result was never in doubt and there were 19 points between the teams when the final whistle went.

Portumna have now won three of the last four All-Ireland club hurling titles, and the latest victory reinforces their claim to being one of GAA’s all-time great club hurling teams.

In the football decider that immediately followed the hurling, the men of Crossmaglen were trying to enhance their own dynasty. The 2007 champions from Armagh were hoping to add a fifth title, but it was not to be, however, as Kilmacud Crokes of Dublin won by 1-09 to 0-07. 

Mark Davoran got the crucial goal after ten minutes and the team from the capital lead by 1-04 to 0-04 at halftime. Mark Vaughan scored four points for the champions and try as Crossmaglen did to breach Kilmacud’s defense at the death, the Dublin men stood firm and won the All-Ireland Senior Club Football title for the second time.