The 2010 Opel GPA Players of the Year have been announced in the football and hurling categories.

Taking this years football title is Bernard Brogan of Dublin and Lar Corbett scoring the title for Tipperary.

The players were voted by the Gaelic Players Association and chosen for their "outstanding performances throughout the season."

The prize for both players, a new Opel Astra car worth about $33,000.

Dessie Farrell, Chief Executive of the Gaelic Players' Association said: "WhilecChampionship success is totally dependent on team effort, there is no doubt that the individual performances of Lar Corbett and Bernard Brogan stood out this year and those displays have been acknowledged by their fellow players who have voted them as the Opel GPA Players of the Year.

"Congratulations to both players, it is a wonderful achievement for them individually although I know they will be quick to point out the support of their team-mates. Thanks once again to the players who voted, to our selection committees and to Opel for their sponsorship of these much coveted Awards."

The four nominees for the Opel Gaelic Player of the year for hurling, as chosen by the Hurling Selection Committee, were; Lar Corbett (Tipperary), Michael Fennelly, Brendan Maher (Tipperary) and Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny).

The three nominations for the Opel Gaelic Player of the year for football were; Bernard Brogan (Dublin), Benny Coulter (Down) and John Doyle (Kildare).