Senior Hurling
Close call for Islanders
Long Island Gaels 3-19 Tipperary 4-14

In an excellent hurling semifinal Long Island did just enough to qualify for the final next week where they will take on Galway. Two points behind at the break they came out on top after a brilliant second half where both sides had brilliant goals as they went toe to toe. The sides opened at 2 apiece and it was level pegging for the next fifteen minutes before Tipperary broke ahead with three frees from Buggy O’Meara to put two between the sides at the short whistle, 0-09 to 0-07. The goals started to flow in the second half and the lead changed hands on a number of occasions.

aul Loughnane had a brilliant score when he doubled on a dropping pass from O’Meara while Shane Minton had 1-01 to open a slight lead for the winners. Back to back goals for Tipperary with less than seven minutes left changed the environment but Long Island reacted in the best way possible. Dean Higgins rattled the net with a pile driver to again put the side in front and a point from Alan Stenson extended the margin. The final whistle arrived just in time with both sides battling to the end.

Long Island Gaels 1 Ray Murray 2 Aiden Cash 4 Paul Murphy (0-01) 5 Stephen O’Keane 6 Conor Lynam 7 Mike Elwood 8 Enda Barrett (0-02) 9 Jake McMahon   10 Shane Minton (1-03)11 Ray McLoughney (0-04)12 Tadgh Slevin 13 Alan Stenson (1-02) 15 Brian Deane Subs Danny Masterson Dean Higgins (1-07)

Tipperary 1 Craig Harford 2 Donagh Maher (1-01) 4 Micheal Cahill 5 Colm Forde 6 Padraig Maher 7 Francis Kennedy 8 Neidin O’Riordan (0-02) 9 Liam Maher 10 Davie Loughnane (0-01) 11 Paul Loughnane (1-01) 12 John Sheedy (1-01) 13 Brian O’Meara (0-07) 15 Shane Burke (1-02)
Referee Finbarr Flood

Man of the Match Dean Higgins (Long Island Gaels)

Junior Hurling
Ulster in a thriller
Ulster 0-19 Rockland 1-13

In a brilliant game of competitive hurling, Ulster qualified for the Junior Hurling final where they will play Hoboken. In a Saturday night fever pitched encounter the sides were level on a number of occasions as well as at the break, 1-07 to 0-10. It was a late surge by Ulster that got them over the mountain with Maurice Callinan from frees and Peter Hatzer at the defensive end pivotal. Ulster broke into an early 0-04 to 0-01 lead but then Rockland got on level terms when they had a goal after a heavy period of dominance and they followed with points from frees by Robbie Jackson and play by Dean Murphy. When the second half opened, Maurice Callinan added points from frees to open a three point lead. Rockland was chasing the game but they did with passion. Point for point, Robbie Jackson had a 20 meter free that have the side the chance to draw level with ten minutes remaining. His projectile shot screamed over the lathe by inches. Ulster were able to maintain their lead to the end line but were pushed hard in a tremendous encounter.

Ulster 1 Eoghan McCurry 2 Cathel McHorry 4 Tom Davey 5 Dan Kinney 6 Peter Hatzer 7 David Hallinan 8 Cahir McNaughton 9 Pa Walsh 10 Maurice Callinan 11 Ian Gibbs 12 Lawrence Kennedy 13 Adam Fitzgerald 15 Gerard McFettridge

Rockland Patrick Murray 2 John Power 4 Liam O’Connor 5 Liam Bergin 6 Seamus Humphries 7 Naill O’Connor 8 Stephen Moroney 9 Shane Kennedy 10 Killian McNamara 11 Keith McKeogh 12 Dean Murphy 13 Rob Jackson 15 Naill Marshall

Referee Eugene Kyne (Turloughmore)

Man of the Match

Junior Football Final
Goals the key for Winners
St Barnabas 4-11 Westmeath 0-10

The Junior Final was a thrilling encounter that resulted in the best team winning certainly, although the scoreline did flatter at the end. Westmeath started the game in impressive form and they led 0-06 to 0-03 at the twenty minute mark. Barnabas finished the half strong however with two Travers points and a Brian Dennehy goal. Five minutes into the second half it was 1-07 to 0-08 for the winners, before The Saints started to break the game open. They had three of the next five points then added a Brian Dennehy goal after Liam Deane and Micheal Travers set him up. Further goals from Paul McEvoy, and Liam Deane put a gloss on the scoreline but the Saints were more than deserving and now move onto the intermediate division for the 2014 anniversary year

Westmeath 1 Ray Coyle 2 Naill McMahon 3 Liam Butler 4 Steve Keating 5 Darren Doherty 6 Keith Scally 7 Seamus Skeffington 8 Darren Petit 9 David Higgins 10 Garth Murray (0-01)11 John McLoughlin (0-01)12 Robbie Jackson 13 Kevin Lilly (0-02)14 Jeff Farrell (0-03)15 Dave Hallahan (0-03)Subs James Stones

St Barnabas 1 Matt Schumacher 2 Frankie McDermott 3 James McMullan 4 Micheal McBrien 5 Conor Hogan (0-01)6 Shane Hogan 7 Paul McEvoy (1-00)8 Rory O’Neill 9 Naill Croke 10 Adrian Wynne (0-02)11 Tom McGovern 12 Ross Timothy (0-01)13 Liam Deane (1-00)14 Mike Travors (0-07) 15 Shane Flanagan Subs Brian Dennehy (2-00) Padraig McDaid

Referee Jimmy Naughton

 Man of the Match Micheal Travors (St Barnabas) 

GAA players giving it their all at the Gaelic Park, in the Bronx, New YorkGoogle Images