FBD Final

Second half surge wins it

Mayo 0-19 New York 0-07

The FBD championship belongs to Mayo after a comprehensive victory over New York. The game was close for 35 minutes but when the Connaught side got into their flow they had too many weapons. For The opening ten minutes it was also all Mayo as they put five unanswered points on the board. Kevin Killeen was the free taker while Aiden O’Shea was powerful at full forward. When NY finally got going they had a brace of points from Johnny Murtagh from Johnny Murtagh. Mayo had goal chances at the offensive end with Alan Hearty and Paul Lambe pulling off good saves before NY ran out strongest in the closing fifteen minutes. Three Murtagh scores, two from frees and a Seamus Toner point cancelled out an Enda Varley score and had the sides all level at the short whistle. Toner added to the NY total and gave them their only lead of the contest three minutes into the second half. It was short lived. Four Mayo points in the next eight minutes, Enda Varley two, Kevin McLoughlin and Kevin Killeen broke the game open; they added nine further scores and were always able to find the open man as the game finished up.

New York had few players who left with reputations intact. Alan Hearty made one great stop and his kick outs had plenty of length, Kevin Smith battled hard in the middle, while Johnny Murtagh was tremendous in open play and from frees. Seamus Toner had three chances and fired two of them over the bar. Surprisingly he was taken off. Mayo had a slew of players who impressed. Ger Cafferkey when Murtagh moved away from him did well, Trevor Howley, Jimmy Killeen and Aiden O’Shea were excellent. 

New York 1 Alan Hearty 2 Paul Lambe 3 Aiden Power 4 Lonon Maguire 5 Alan Raftery 6 Brendan McGourty 7 Joe Bell 8 Kevin Smith 9 Pat Madden 10 Jason Kelly  11 Dan Doona 12 Eoghan Carew 13 James Moynagh 14 John Murtagh (0-05) 15 Seamus Toner (0-02) Subs  Dermot Keane for McGourty Half Time, Kevin McGeeney hf time, Alan O’Hara for Toner 35 mins, Sean Gavin for Doona 51 mins

Mayo 1 David Clarke 2 Kevin Keane 3 Ger Cafferkey 4 Chris Barrett 5 Peader Gardiner 6 Trevor Howley 7 Shane Nally (0-01) 8 Ger McDonagh 9 Trevor Mortimer (0-02)10 Jimmy Killeen (0-07)11 Andy Moran (0-01)12 Kevin McLoughlin (0-02)13 Enda Varley (0-04)14 Aiden O’Shea (0-01)15 Mark Ronaldson Subs Lee Keegan (0-01)for Nally 38 mins, James Burke for Keane 41 mins

Man of the Match Jimmy Killeen (Mayo)

Referee Martin Duffy (Sligo)