Senior Hurling
Perfect Start for Gaels
Long Island Gaels 0-15 Offaly 0-11

Long Island Gaels had a perfect start to their senior hurling life with a four point win over a limited Offaly side in the first senior hurling game of the year. On the back of a man of the match performance from Tadgh Slevin, the Islanders used a brilliant closing to fire the last four points and get the victory. There was only a point between the sides at the break with Offaly holding the slimmest of leads. Shane Sweeney had a brace while Sean O’Connor also had a nice point from play to put the side in front. Brilliant long distance shooting however for LIG brought them back into the game. They withstood falling behind 0-09 to 0-06 in the early going of the second half before firing over nine of the last eleven points. Slevin with three was the leading light but Bernard Deacy and Enda O’Connor also had major contributions in the historic victory.

Offaly 1 Alan Gleason 2 Tom O’Callaghan 4 Sean O’Sullivan 5 Sean O’Connor (0-02)6 Richie Hartnett 7 Keelan O’Keefe 8 Donie Broderick 9 Brian Glynn (0-01)10 Brendan Blackwell 11 Eamonn Slattery (0-02)12 Calem McDonald (0-01)13 Shane Sweeney (0-04)15 Brian McNaughton (0-01) Subs Danny McCormack Paudie Kyne

Long Island Gaels 1 Ray Murray 2 Ronan Morrison 4 Conor Glynn 5 Luke Kelly 6 Richie O’Connor 8 Aiden Cash 9 Eddie Kendrick 10 Danny Masterson (0-01) 11 Daniel Breen 12 Tadgh Slevin(0-07) 13 Bernard Deacy (0-04)15 Enda O’Connor (0-03)  

Referee Finbarr Flood

Man of the Match Tadgh Slevin (Long Island Gaels)

Senior football
Battle ends square
Kerry 0-14 Leitrim 1-11

Leitrim and Kerry finished all square in a close fought battle that came down to the wire with Leitrim having a long distance fifty, it was out by the right sideline for the win., Pa Ryan’s shot never got elevated however and the fair result stood. Kerry stormed out the gate and was ahead 0-09 to 0-02 after twenty minutes. Paddy Kelly was doing a lot of damage against his old team mates while Mike Jim Fitzgerald was also a huge contributor. They would have been further ahead but for a god saving by Pa Ryan on Mike Murphy quarter way through. Leitrim did score the last four points of the half to start a resurgence leaving them 0-08 to 0-06 behind at the short whistle. It was score for score in the second half before Kerry finally broke the game open with four points in a row in the last quarter. Mike Jim had a pair while Keelan Hickey was also on target Woith a free. They were ahead by three 0-14 to 0-11 with time ticking down. A long range free from the stand side by Rory Woods was touched to the net for the draw with a number of possibilities for congratulations. It appeared however that Ray O’Connor had got the vital touch for the tie.

Kerry 1 Ger O’Sullivan 2  James Huvane 3 Darren Courtney  4 Ronan McLoughlin 5   Sean Kelly  6 Mike Nester 7 John Curran   8 Mike Jim Fitzgerald (0-03) 9 Paddy Kelly (0-01) 10 Keelan Hickey (0-04) 11Mike Murphy  12 Gary O’Driscoll (0-01)13 Darren Moore (0-02)14 Naill Farrell (0-01) 15 Ross Donavan  (0-01) Subs Dermie Foley (0-01)

Leitrim 1 Pa Ryan 2 Mike Creegan 3 Kevin Meaney (0-02) 4 Lonan McGuire 5 Peter Fahey 6 Aiden Power  7 Danny Sullivan 8 Adrian O’Connor 9 Cian Maher 10 Cathel Matthews  11 Keith Power 12 Ray O’Connor (1-00) 13 Paul McComiskey (0-05) 14 Rory Woods (0-04) 15 Dave Harvey Subs Eanna Slattery

Man of the Match Kevin Meaney (Leitrim)

Referee Brian Quinn

Senior football
Herbert stars for Na Fianna
Donegal 2-14 Cavan 4-08 

Donegal salvaged a draw after being ahead for long periods with a critical Sean Kinahane score at the final whistle. Donegal had an early 2-04 to 0-02 lead with Conor Lynam and CJ Molloy snatching the goals and looked to appear to be coasting. Add a red card for a Cavan player and the odds were good for the win. Gary Walsh had other thoughts however he followed three Cavan points with a brilliant individual goal to close the first half leaving Cavan behind 2-06 to 1-05. After Donegal opened the second half with a six points to one spree all looked lost for Cavan. Again Walsh stepped up. He followed an Enda Reilly point with his second goal, and then punctuated his performance with his third and Cavan’s fourth with time ticking out. Enda Reilly had preceded him with Cavans third and an unexpected win was on the cards. Donegal were awarded a free however with time ticking down and up stepped star Kinahane to save the day.

Donegal 1 Brian Cuilinan 2 Steven Lynch 3 Donnacha Dwyer 4 Steven Duffy  5 Kieran Scally  (0-01)6 Shane Boyle 7 Mike Molloy  8 Sean Manley 9 Sean Kinahane (0-02)  10 Paul McGinley (0-01)11 Kieran Slattery  12 Mickey Annett (0-02) 13 Conor Lynam (1-07) 14 CJ Molloy (1-00)15 Tommy Moran  Subs Liam Deane Paraic McDaid

Cavan 1 Gavin Joyce 2  Ciaran Martin 3 Ronan McGinley 5 Mike Holahan 6 Ciaran Shields 7 Martin Walsh 8 Gary Walsh (3-01) 9 Alan Carolan 10 Alan McCann  11 Mickey Sloan 12 Conor Cosgrove 13 James Connolly (0-01)14 Enda Reilly (1-05) 15 Joey McKeon  (0-01)

Man of the Match Gary Walsh (Cavan)

Referee John Fitzpatrick

Ladies football
Herbert stars for Na Fianna
Na Fianna 5-08 Cavan 2-09

Na Fianna used goals to get the victory in the first game of Sunday’s card and Aoife Herbert was the star with a Hat trick. Her side broke out into an early 1-03 to 0-01 lead with Tess Mackey getting the goal fest started with a delightful finish. After Cavan points, Aoife Herbert had her first two goals, with Margaret Brady the assisted on one with a brilliant long solo run. They went into the break with a 4-03 to 0-05 lead after Tasha Barnwell added their fourth in a dominating performance. Cavan did make it interesting for a period with Sarah Murphy and Fiona Scally both hitting the net in the second half but it was always difficult for the side to break down Na Fianna’s defense. Herbert completed her hat trick in the closing moments before Barnwell finished the scoring with a point from play.

Cavan 1 Nora Kilkenny 2 Katie Kilkenny 3 Alison O’Reilly 4 Shauna Hutton 5 Nicola McCullough (0-01) 6 Mary Naughton 7 Caroline McBrien 8 Marie Ruane (0-01) 9 Caitlin Hynes 10 Rosie O’Reilly/Broderick (0-02) 11 Alisha Jordon 12 Fiona Skelly (1-00) 13 Aisling O’Callaghan 14 Sarah Murphy  (1-04)15 Nicola O’Reilly

Na Fianna 1 Joanne McKenna 2 Kiera O’Connor 3 Katrina Lynch 4 Joanne Monaghan 5 Marie Cox 6 Stephanie Tierney 7 Imelda Mullarkey 8 Aine O’Dwyer (0-03) 9 Margaret Brady 10 Tess Mackey (1-00)  11 Brianna Tierney (0-01)12 Mary O’Rourke (0-02) 13 Aoife Herbert (3-00)14 Tasha Barnwell (1-02)

Player of the Match Aoife Herbert (Na Fianna)

National Collegiate Gaelic Athletic Association selected the Big Apple due to facilities and their enthusiasm for GAASportsfile / GAA