Senior football

Leitrim Stars too much

Leitrim 1-17 Cavan 1-08  

Leitrim had far too many weapons for Cavan although it did take them 25 minutes to get completely on track. The sides were level at that juncture at 1-05 a piece with Kenny O’Connor getting the Leitrim goal in the first minutes from a Rory Woods feed while Brendan O’Sullivan had a very good goal when he finished a five player move. Leitrim did however show their intentions with three points to close out the half. They had six of the opening seven points in the second half with Gavin McParland coming alive with a hat trick. Cavans only clear cut goal chance in the second half was stopped by Pa Ryan who touched a Richie Morgan low drive around the post for a fifty. While Cavan did add two points from Reilly and Walsh, Lonan Maguire had a brace of the bench with the excellent Paul McComiskey finishing his man of the match performance with the last. 

Cavan 1 Gavin Joyce 2 Ronan McGinley 3 Mike O’Regan 4 Mike Holahan 5 Dan King 6 Sean Kelly 7 Marty Carey 8 Brendan O’Sullivan (1-01)9 Micheal Reilly  10 Conor Cosgrave 11 Enda Reilly (0-04) 12 Eoghan Ward (0-01) 13 James Connolly 14 Gary Walsh (0-02) 15 Richie Morgan  Subs Mick Gavin 

Leitrim 1 Pa Ryan 2 Mike Creegan 3 Declan McKenna (0-01)4 Ciaran Hughes  5 Garth Bradshaw 6 Peter Carragher  7 Cian Maher 8 Adrian O’Connor 9 Brendan Quigley (0-01) 10 Paul McComiskey (0-03) 11 Kevin Meaney 12 Eoghan Carew 13 Kenny O’Connor (1-00)14 Rory Woods (0-04) 15 Gavin McParland (0-05) Subs Ray O’Connor, Lonan Maguire (0-02)
Man of the Match Paul McComiskey (Leitrim)

Referee John Fitzpatrick

Senior Hurling

All ends square in hurling

Long Island Gaels 4-14  Offaly 2-20

In a very entertaining outing, Long Island and Offaly squared of to a draw on Saturday evening with both sides having reasons to believe they could have won, but Offaly to generous giving up two goals on defensive mistakes. Offaly burst into a 0-04 to 0-01  lead and then reacted to three LIG points with a Peter Atkinson goal when Garth Johnson set him free. With five minutes left in the first half Offaly were sitting on a four point advantage but then Long Island came alive. Two points were followed by a Kevin O’Loughlin goal when the defense did not react quick enough to a loose ball. 

hey continued the dominance in the first ten minutes of the second half with O’Loughlin completing his hat trick of goals while Danny McTiernan also hit the net with a long range effort. It appeared over for the Faithful. They started to claw their way back with seven of the next nine scores. Peter Atkinson had four frees while Johnson had a 110 yard free that was unbelievable.

fter a Tadgh Slevin free, Offaly were level when again Atkinson put frees over the lathe as he punished all indiscressions. Both sides swapped points as the game wound down with Tadgh Slevin having a chance to win with a last second free but it tailed right and wide.

Offaly 1 Alan Gleason 2 Sean O’Sullivan 4 Con Mahon 5 Sean O’Connor 6 Richie Hartnett  7 Tom O’Callaghan  8 Brian Glynn 9 Paudge Behan  10 Ger Crowe (0-01)11Kevin Grogan 12 Donie Broderick (0-01)13 Paul Atkinson (2-13)15 Gareth Johnson (0-04) Subs Padraig Kyne  Terrance Grogan, Robbie Doyle, Peter Hatzer Kieran O’Keefe

Long Island Gaels 1 Ray Murray 2 Mike Elwood 4 Dan Breen 5 Enda Barrett (0-02) 6 Ed Kendrick 7 Tadgh Callaghan 8 Jake McMahon (0-01) 9 Liam Meehan 10 Aiden Cash 11 Tadgh Slevin (0-04) 12 Bernard Dee (0-01) 13 Ray McLoughney 15 Shane Minton (0-03) Subs Danny McTiernan (1-00) Kevin McLoughlin (3-03)Edna O’Connor Liam Meehan Conor Glynn   Conor Lynam
Man of the Match:  Peter Atkinson (Offaly) 

Referee Finbarr Flood

Senior Football

Second Half decisive for Cork

Cork 2-09 Donegal 1-10

On Saturday evening down 1-10 to 0-05, all looked lost for Cork with twenty minutes left in this senior football contest. No one had told Liam Hanley’s charges that however and a number of astute substitutions helped to sway the domination with both Cathel Hatzer and Conor Hunter hitting the net. It all started so different. Cork were ahead 2 to 0, when Donegal started their run of dominance, They had seven of the next nine points with Brian Connor and Conor Lynam the scorers, Three for the midfielder, four for the forward. It left the side in a 0-07 to 0-04 interval lead. They followed a Dan Doona point with a further 1-03 with Connor crashing the ball to the net after a large parallelogram skirmish. They were now up 1-10 to 0-05 and home free they thought. Cork rebounded in the best way possible. Two goals the first from Cathel Hatzer, the second from a Conor Hunter penalty when Peter Hatzer was fouled, made a game of it. Ger McCarthy added a brace of points before Jason Kelly and Naill Coleman a screamer completed the improbable comeback. 

Cork 1 Gary Lowney 2 Liam Jennings 3 Gary Hanley 4 Noel Galvin 5 Shawn McNamee 6 Stephen Donaghue 7 Darren Walsh 8 Rory Stafford 9 Alan Raftery 10 Mickey Lenehan 11 Naill Coleman (0-03)12 Mark Brown 13 Ger McCarthy (0-03)14 Jason Kelly (0-02)15 Dan Doona (0-01) Subs Cathel Hatzer (1-00)Conor Hunter (1-00) Peter Hatzer

Donegal 1 Brian Cullinan 2 Donnacha Dwyer 3 John Moloney 4 Paul McGinley (0-01)5 Steven Lynch 6 Shane Boyle 7 Mike Molloy 8 Brian Connor(1-04) 9 Keith Scally 10 Mikey Annette 11 Peter Acheson 12 Phil Austin 13 PJ Flanagan 14 Conor Lynam (0-05)15 Enda Gaffney Subs Sean Manley Alan McGill

Referee Martin O’Connor

Man of the match  Ger McCarthy (Cork)

Senior Football

Tyrone steals it

Tyrone 2-09 Kerry 1-11

Tyrone looked lost and gone at the half time whist;le on sundayy as they trailed 1-09 to 0-03. It all changed dramatically however as they made a brilliant comeback to get the win. Kerry had scored three of trhe first four points before Peter Atkinson snatched a goal when Darren Moore found hinm with an excellent pass. Daryl O’Brian added two fifty yard points while Robbie Moran was firing over frees. All looked good for trhe Kingdom. Both sides added two to their total in the first ten minmutes of the second half but then the Red Hand started to move. Arthur McConville added two frees before Greg Jordon had a brilliant goal with 18 minutes on the clock. Kerry were kicking wides or being stopped by good play from Darren Jackson and Darren O’Hagan then Jordon and O’Hagan brought Tyrone within two with points. When Phil Toner drove a long ball goalwards with five minutes left, no danger seemed imminent. However the ball went past the full back and forward and bounced to the net past Ger O’Sullivan for the lead. The winners withstood two furious Kerry attacks and held on for the important victory. 

Kerry 1 Ger O’Sullivan 2 Kieran O’Connor 3 Kieran Quirke 4 Kieran Scannell 5 Sean Kelly   6 Daryl O’Brien (0-02) 7 John Curran (0-02)8 Mike Jim Fitzgerald 9 Paddy Kelly 10 Keelan Hickey 11 Gary O’Driscoll 12  Naill Farrell 13 Darren Moore (0-02)14 Robbie Moran (0-05)15 Peter Atkinson (1-00)  Sub Shane Coffee, Stephen King

Tyrone 1 Anthony O’Donaghue 2 Darren Jackson 3 Joe Bell 4 Johnny Jordon 5 Darren O’Hagan (0-02)6 Damo O’Sullivan 7 Micheal Gallagher  8 Conor McNabb 9 John Power 10  Darren Doherty  11 Phil Toner (1-00)12 Liam Carty  13 Peader McMahon 14 Anthony McConville (0-06)15 Greg Jordon (1-01)

Referee Paddy Donaghue

Man of the Match Darren O’Hagen (Tyrone)

GAA players giving it their all at the Gaelic Park, in the Bronx, New YorkGoogle Images