Senior Hurling

Tribe stroll to victory
Galway 3-22 Tipperary 0-11

It was very easy for Galway as they put up a big score against an undermanned Tipperary side. Robbie Jackson was excellent from long range as he fired over 0-11. It was a team effort however as none players got on the board for the winners. They fell behind 0-03 zero at the offset but then the Galway started their onslaught. At the break it was a 1-12 to 0-07 advantage with John Power getting the goal. Tipperary's only resource was frees by Gary Donaghue, the smaller one, while the movement of the Galway forward line was always a problem. Mike Kennedy made some very good stops in a new position for him, one in which he showed no fear. It was more of the same however in the second half as two Alan Sheehan goals helped to pad the advantage. 

Galway 1 Gavin Lally 2 Liam Butler 4 Andrew Keane 5 Aiden Flynn 6 Richie Gaule 7 Mike Farrell (0-01)8 Shane Kelly (0-01) 9 Robbie Jackson (0-11)10 John Power (1-00) 11 Alan Sheanan (2-01) 12 Kevin Hughes (0-03)13 David Shaughnessy (0-02)15 Derek Flynn(0-01) Subs Cormac Condon (0-02) 
Tipperary 1 Mike Kennedy 2 T Keane (0-02)4 E Hogan 5 G O’Donnell 6 P Tracey 7 E Kelly 8 L Burke 9 M Ryan 10 R O’Connor 11 G Donaghue (0-04)12 M Mechchair (0-04)13 D O’Dwyer 15 P O’Meara (0-01)

Referee Dermot Flynn

Man of the Match Robbie Jackson (Galway)

Senior football
Woods Leads Leitrim way
Leitrim 2-11 Donegal 1-06

The In a close fought battle at least for 45 minutes Leitrim used brilliant shooting from the inform Rory Woods to take the points in this senior football contest. Ahead by two at the break, 1-05 to 1-03, the game was still up for grabs with 12 minutes left before Lonan Maguire doubled an Adrian O’Connor rebound to the net for the side’s second goal. Donegal opened the game with a pair of points and they added to their total with a goal from Enda Gaffney after Leitrim had drawn level. The winners finally went ahead when Woods punished a defensive mistake by linking with Dave Harvey and then followed a Ray O’Connor score with a towering point from platy. To open the second half the man of the match sandwiched a CJ Molloy score with a brace before Maguire had his excellent goal to put light between the battling sides. They finished far stronger by finishing of the game with a further four points and stopped the last Donegal goal chance with a goal line clearance by Aiden Power.

Leitrim 1 Pa Ryan 2 Mike Creegan 3 Kevin Meaney  4 Lonan McGuire (1-01) 5 Aiden Power  6 Mike McGowan 7 Danny Sullivan 8 Adrian O’Connor 9 Cian Maher 10 Rory Redican 11 Eoghan Carew 12 Ray O’Connor (0-01) 13 Paul McComiskey (0-01) 14 Rory Woods (1-07) 15 Dave Harvey Subs Brian O’Connor (0-01)

Donegal 1 Brian Cuilinan 2 Steven Lynch 3 Donnacha O’Dwyer 4 Paul McGinley   5 Kieran Scally (0-01)6 Shane Boyle 7 Mike Molloy 8 Sean Manley 9 Sean Kinahane (0-02) 10 Steven Duffy 11 PJ Flanagan 12 Mickey Annett (0-01)13Liam Deane 14 CJ Molloy (0-01)15 Enda Gaffney (1-04) Subs Paraic McDaid

Man of the Match Rory Woods (Leitrim)

Senior football
Walsh Hammers Armagh
Cavan 4-17 Armagh 0-06

Cavan had a very easy win over Armagh with Gary Walsh outstanding at the full forward position not only from the dead ball but also in open play. He was impossible to mark but it must be said that the quality of ball coming in to him was top class. He scored 1-09 over the hour with fellow hit man En=da Reilly grabbing 1-03. Reilly’s main focus was as the feeder a job he did expertly. Add to the mix an excellent defensive game by Ronan McGinley and Ciaran Shields which made it very difficult for Armagh to create any forward chances. Their one highlight on a dismal day was the form of Kevin McArdle who pulled of at least three excellent saves.

Cavan 1 Gavin Joyce 2 Ronan McGinley 3 Allan Carolan 4  Mike Holahan 5 Daniel King 6 Ciaran Shields 7 Martin Cary  8 Brendan O’Sullivan 9 Sean Kelly (1-00)10 Conor Cosgrove 11 Enda Reilly (1-03)12  James Connolly (0-02)13 Mickey Sloan 14 Gary Walsh (1-09)15 Richie Morgan (1-03)Subs Mike Reilly Mike Gavin

Armagh 1 Kevin McArdle 2 Stuart Stokes 3 Dave Reel 4 Aiden Morton 5 Seamus McDaid 6 Patsy Martin 7 Joe McCaffrey (0-01)8 Seamus Toner 9 Paul Rafferty 10 Martin Cantwell 11 Liam Collins 12 Ryan Stokes 13 Ken Cox 14  Bingo Driscoll 15 Alan Hearty (0-03) Subs Sean Jones (0-02)

Man of the Match Gary Walsh Cavan