The Galway hurling club had its annual general meeting last week, and officers were installed for the 2011 year.

Chairman for the new year is Tommy Fahey, the long-time time New York officer and well known referee. His vice chair is Joe Egan, while the secretary is Tom Bowes. Mike Wade is treasurer and Mike Burke the PRO.

The Galway senior hurling squad battles against Tipperary and Offaly for the Michael Flannery Championship each season, and John Kelly is back at the helm as manager.

The first function of 2011 for the club is a Texas hold’em fundraiser which takes place at the Heritage on McLean Avenue in Yonkers this Saturday Night. It will be an 8 p.m. start. Call Fahey at 914-837-3043 for information.
Meanwhile, the Cavan football and social club had its election of officers for 2011 recently when the club assembled at Danny Mac’s on McLean to hear nominations.

After a successful season when the club’s men’s sides both reached county semifinals, and the ladies side reached the final of their respective championships, the club will look at the new year as one that is full of optimism.

Mike Reilly returns as the senior football manager with a squad that had a glorious win over Tyrone in the quarterfinal last season before going down to Cork in the next round in a game in which his side was depleted by injury.

Kevin Shalvey returns to the junior manager job, a post he held some years ago very successfully. He took his sides in the past to a couple of county finals, and will certainly have a repeat of that as the number one objective with a championship win the goal.

Dessie O’Reilly returns as the ladies manager. He has had unbelievable success in the last 10 years with his squad, and was disappointed with a loss in the Sean Faherty final last season.

He will quest to go one better with a side that has an excellent mixture of experience and a number of brilliant young American players, including young player of the year Ashley Callery.

Tom Cahill was elected vice chairman, with Rosie O’Reilly Broderick the returning chairperson for the moment. The club just had its excellent Super Bowl draw and is already looking forward to the annual Cavan seven a side tournament which is a staple in the New York GAA calendar each year.

The 2011 officers are – chairperson, Rosie O’Reilly Broderick; vice chairperson, Tom Cahill; secretary, Eugene Kyne; treasurer, Paddy Reilly; PRO, Eugene Kyne; senior manager, Mike Reilly; junior manager, Kevin Shalvey; ladies manager, Dessie O’Reilly; senior delegates, Liam Moffatt, Philip Sheridan; senior proxies, Mike Reilly, Dessie O’Reilly; junior delegates, Kevin Shalvey, Tom Cahill; junior proxies, Rosie O’Reilly Broderick, Jimmy McGirr; trustee, Brendan O’Reilly; sergeant at arms, Brendan Mulligan.

Gaelic Park in the Bronx, NYGoogle Images