James McCarthy has paid the price for his failure to turn up for Ireland – and Aiden McGeady is struggling to face Slovakia and Russia next month as he recovers from injury.

Moscow based winger McGeady was named in the final Irish squad for both games but he has yet to resume training after months out with an ankle injury.

Scottish born McCarthy is making most of the headlines in Ireland however after he was left out of the revised squad for the vital European Championship qualifiers.

Also missing are Jonathon Walters, Marc Wilson, Ciaran Clark and Damien Delaney while Seamus Coleman and Paul McShane are injured.



Robbie Keane marks MLS debut with goal for the LA Galaxy

Sports Digest: Robbie Keane, Giovanni Trapattoni and the World Cup

Darren Clarke overtakes Tiger Woods in the golf world rankings


The most notable absentee is the Wigan midfielder McCarthy who pulled out of the squad for the August friendly against Croatia with an injury but played for Wigan in the Premier League the following Saturday.

He also missed the win in Macedonia and three friendlies at the end of last season, much to the annoyance of manager Giovanni Trapattoni.

A statement from the FAI confirmed that McCarthy is available to under 21 manager Noel King next month and: “Like other players, will be called up to the senior squad should he be required.”

Stoke duo Wilson and Walters also miss out after withdrawing from the Croatia game while Sunderland’s John O’Shea is included although he has yet to play for his new club this season due to a hamstring injury.

Manager Giovanni Trapattoni said: “Picking the final 25 players for the squad has not been an easy task, and unfortunately some players have been left out.

“We will continue to monitor their progress with their clubs, and call them up if necessary.”

The revised Ireland squad to play Slovakia and Russia is: Shay Given (Aston Villa), Keiren Westwood (Sunderland), David Forde (Millwall), John O’Shea (Sunderland), Kevin Foley (Wolves), Stephen Kelly (Fulham), Stephen Ward (Fulham), Stephen Ward (Wolves), Richard Dunne (Aston Villa), Kevin Kilbane (Derby), Sean St. Ledger (Leicester City), Darren O’Dea (Leeds Utd), Glenn Whelan (Stoke City), Darron Gibson (Manchester Utd), Keith Andrews (Ipswich), Keith Fahey (Birmingham), Andy Keogh (Leeds Utd), Damien Duff (Fulham), Aiden McGeady (Spartak Moscow), Stephen Hunt (Wolves), Liam Lawrence (Portsmouth), Keith Treacy (Burnley), Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), Kevin Doyle (Wolves), Shane Long (WBA), Simon Cox (WBA).

Giovanni Trapattoni