Ireland rugby coach Declan Kidney has made an unprecedented 11 changes to the national side ahead of the game with Samoa on Saturday.

Under Kidney's new lineup Devin Toner will make his first Test start for Ireland alongside Donncha O’Callaghan in the second row. Luke Fitzgerald now switches to full back in place of Rob Kearney with Andrew Trimble filling the wing spot.

Kidney has also selected a front row lineup comprising of Tom Court, who impressed the higher ups from the bench last weekend, and will be jopined by Connacht’s Sean Cronin and Irish test centurion John Hayes.

Denis Leamy and Sean O’Brien will replace Stephen Ferris and David Wallace on the flanks while it's understood that Jamis Heaslip retains the number eight jersey.

Further replacements will be named later in the week. Kick off is at 2.30 pm on Saturday.