Legendary Kilkenny forward Henry Shefflin looks set to win his third Hurler of the Year award after a magnificent championship campaign that saw him finish leading scorer as well as winning a record breaking ninth All Ireland medal.

He faces stiff competition however in the form of teammate Paul Murphy, who has been universally lauded for his performances all season and from Galway’s free-scoring attacker, Joe Canning.

Kilkenny and Galway were unanimously proven to be this year’s standout performers as they not only clinched all three Hurler of the Year nominations but also garnered 26 out of a possible 45 nominations from the All Star selection committee with Galway having 14 players nominated and Kilkenny having 12.

There was only room for six other counties to have players nominated, with Munster champions Tipperary receiving six nominations, Cork and Waterford receiving four each, and Limerick and Clare both clinching two. Dublin only received one nomination with Danny Sutcliffe who also got nominated for Young Hurler of the Year alongside Galway’s Johnny Coen and Niall Burke.

The winners will be announced at the All-Star banquet which will be held on Friday, October 26th live on RTE television. 

The full list of the All-Star nominations can be found here.

Kilkenny's top hurl Henry ShefflinGoogle Images