Rockland 3-12 St Barnabas 3-6

Rockland emerged victorious in the under-14 A final on Saturday, but not before they were made to fight for long periods. 

They lead at the break 2-4 to 1-5, but St. Barnabas were pushing them hard with very good displays from Colm Dunne on the forty and goal scorer Mark Neville. Conor Callan was also called into play due to Saints pressure. 

They dominated the second half, however, with a game changing moment happening when Colin Moriarty had a penalty goal that just snuck under the keeper’s body. A stop there would have lifted the runners-up. 

It was not to be, and further scores from Kyle Shalvey who was excellent from frees and strong running from Kieran Doherty and Moriarty helped to set the stage. 

Theresa McGovern also had strong contributions when introduced off the bench. Player of the game Doherty was terrific throughout for the winners, with Joe McHugh, Colin Moriarty, Thomas Wilson and the Shalvey’s all having good moments. 

For St. Barnabas, Joe Drago, Kevin Rafferty, Mikey Brosnon and Colm Dunne battled throughout.  

St. Barnabas: 1 Liam Rafferty, 2 Joey Traynor, 3 Joe Drago, 4 Mark McMorrow, 5 Conor McGourty, 6 Adrian Power, 7 Shane Brosnan, 8 Kevin Rafferty, 9 Mikey Brosnan, 10 Geroid Kennedy, 11 Colm Dunne, 12 Jonnie Carroll, 13 Aidan Bennett, 14 Mark Neville, 15 Cian Patterson. Subs: Paul Fitzpatrick, Ryan Walsh, Conor Lynch, Mikey Horrigan.

Rockland: 1 Conor Callin, 2 Sean O’Neill, 3 Jonny DelGresco, 4 Conor James, 5 Joe McHugh, 6 Kieran Doherty, 7 Tadhg O’Riordan, 8 Colin Moriarty, 9 Emmitt O’Byrne, 10 Jack King, 11 Thomas Wilson, 12 Brendan Tarsnane, 13 Ciaran Shalvey, 14 Michael Smyth, 15 Kyle Shalvey. Subs: Adam Fallon, Dylan Shalvey, Theresa McGowan, Eoin Moriarty.

Player of the game: Kieran Doherty (Rockland).

Referee: Eugene Kyne.