Four Irish artists were among those honored this year to join The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

The organization, which is responsible for the Oscars each year, has invited actress Saoirse Ronan for her work in 'Atonement' and 'The Lovely Bones' and Bono for his work on 'Gangs of New York' and 'In the Name of the Father.' Director and animator Darragh O'Connell and U2's The Edge were also invited.

Membership to the prestigious Academy is usually given to those who have been nominated for an Oscar. Members vote for the Oscar nominees and winners every year.

An invitation to join the 6,000-member organization is considered a great honour.