The GAA Museum at Croke Park is delighted to announce the opening of a new Hall of Fame as part of its ongoing refurbishment.

Today two former greats – Offaly footballer Tony McTague and Limerick hurler Eamon Cregan – were inducted into the Hall of Fame. All 30 players from the Teams of the Millennium were also honoured through their inclusion in the exhibit.

Uachtarán Chumann Lúthchleas Gael Liam Ó Néill congratulated both players on being named on the prestigious list which honours their massive contribution to the GAA.

He said: “Former players have a special place in the history of the GAA and nowhere is this captured better than in the GAA Museum where their achievements are highlighted and revered.

“This new facility will serve as a permanent reminder to the greatness of the players who adorned our game at the highest level. It is important that these players are remembered not only by those who were lucky enough to see them, but crucially by those who did not have that privilege.

“This is one way of assisting in that process and I congratulate them and their families.”

Offaly’s Tony McTague won back-to-back All-Ireland titles with the Faithful County in 1971 and as captain in 1972.  Arguably the best free-taker of all time, Tony was renowned for his remarkable accuracy from both play and frees.  Tony enjoyed a ten-year senior inter-county career with Offaly and was named on the first two All-Star teams in 1971 and 1972.

Limerick’s Eamon Cregan enjoyed a 19-year inter-county hurling career, winning practically every hurling honour at senior level – four Munster championships, a National Hurling League, an Oireachtas medal, four Railway Cups and three All-Star Hurling Awards.  He starred on the Limerick team that won the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship in 1973 – Limerick’s first since 1940.  During the game, Eamon was switched from his usual forward position to centre-back, a move which many regarded as vital in Limerick’s victory.

The football and hurling Teams of the Millennium were also inducted into the GAA Museum Hall of Fame today.  A number of players from both teams were in attendance, including Tony Reddin (Tipperary), Jimmy Doyle (Tipperary), Ray Cummins (Cork), Eddie Keher (Kilkenny) from the hurling team and Martin O’Connell (Meath), Mikey Sheehy (Kerry), Seán Murphy (Kerry) and Seán O’Neill (Down) from the football team.

Mark Dorman, GAA Museum Director, said: “The new GAA Museum Hall of Fame serves as a permanent tribute to the hurling and football Teams of the Millennium, their outstanding achievements and lasting legacy.  It displays collections and personal items from these players in one impressive exhibit and is certain to become a highlight for our visitors”. 

A sub committee consisting of Uachtarán Chumann Lúthchleas Gael Liam Ó Néill, Iar-Uachtarán Criostóir Ó’Cuana, Nickey Brennan and journalists Seán Moran and Martin Breheny were involved in the selection process. They will select a football and hurling inductee to the GAA Museum Hall of Fame on an annual basis.

The new exhibit can be seen on the ground floor of the GAA Museum under the Cusack Stand in Croke Park.