Ireland’s RBS 6 Nations captain Brian O’Driscoll received Player of the Year at last night’s IRUPA Players’ awards.

The awards took place in the Burlington Hotel, and it was the first time the 30-year-old Grand Slam winner was selected for the honor by his fellow playing professionals.

His try against Munster last Saturday in his 25th Heineken Cup match has made him this season’s top try scorer in the competition with five in eight games.

“You’re always thankful to receive awards and to receive acclaim but I think when you start receiving it from your own peers they’re the awards that mean the most. That’s why this is probably the award in Ireland to win,” O’Driscoll said.

Tommy Bowe (Ospreys) and  Stephen Ferris (Ulster) were also nominated for the award, while Munster’s Keith Earls was named Young Player of the Year.

Other award winners included:

Players’ Player Of The Year: Brian O’Driscoll (Leinster).

Nominations: Tommy Bowe (Ospreys), Stephen Ferris (Ulster), Brian O’Driscoll (Leinster).

Unsung Hero: Stan Wright (Leinster).

Nominations: Rory Best (Ulster), John Hayes (Munster), Stan Wright (Leinster).

Hall of Fame: Anthony Foley (Munster).

Try Of The Year: Jamie Heaslip (Ireland v France).

Nominations: Tommy Bowe (Ireland v Wales), Jamie Heaslip (Ireland v France), Brian O’Driscoll (Leinster v Wasps).

Young Player Of The Year: Keith Earls (Munster).

Nominations: Darren Cave (Ulster), Keith Earls (Munster), Cian Healy (Leinster).

Rugby Supporters’ Player of the Year: (voted by listeners of Newstalk 106-108fm): Brian O’Driscoll.