Newly Elected Committee of Leitrim Society of Boston 2013-2015. (Back row): Left To Right Charlie Mawn, Cathal Mawn, Jim Keaney, Noel Murphy (Front Row): Connie McElhinney, Cathy Mawn, Derek Mawn, Mary McDermott
Nominations for the County Leitrim Society were held in March this year. The Society elected new officers for a two year term on April 2, 2013. The installation of officers was held at Gerard’s Restaurant in Dorchester where people enjoyed meeting both old and new members.

The Society’s annual Spring Dance will be held on Sunday April 21st from 5-9pm at Concannon's Village in Norwood, MA. Music will be provided by the Noel Henry Showband and tickets are $10 available at the door.The Leitrim Society hold monthly meetings on the first Tuesday of every month in Gerard’s Restaurant in Adams Village, Dorchester. For those looking for more information on the Society or would like to become a member, please email Leitrim Society President Derek Mawn
The newly elected committee would like to invite you all to come to any of their events and look forward to seeing you at the dance on April 21. For more information about the club or any events coming up please contact Derek Mawn at or you can find the Leitrim Society of Boston on Facebook.
A Note from the County Leitrim Society President, Derek Mawn

“As the new President, I would like to congratulate all our new and returning elected officers. I would also like to thank all our outgoing officers for their years of service and dedication, including President Maura Weir and Vice President Theresa Mawn Wilson. The Leitrim Society has had many successes down the years and I am honored to take up the position of President. I wish to continue the tradition of keeping the club enjoyable for the people of Leitrim. I am thrilled to be a part of keeping the culture active and heritage alive for those of us that are first generation Leitrim and beyond. Leitrim may be a small county by population, but the people have a large spirit and it is still going strong! We appreciate our neighboring counties and those from all parts of the island of Ireland that are members and support our activities.”
The new committee is as follows:
President - Derek Mawn, Vice President - Jimmy Gallagher, Membership Secretary - Mary Mc Dermott, Recording Secretary - Cathy Mawn, Treasurer - Noel Murphy, Public Relations - Mark Fitzpatrick, Trustees - Connie McElhinney, Cathal Mawn and Jim Keaney, Sargeant at arms - Charlie Mawn