Jarlath Burns will become the 41st President of the GAA later on Saturday when he succeeds outgoing President Larry McCarthy at the GAA's Annual Congress at the Canal Court Hotel in Newry. 

Burns, who was elected on the first count at last year's election held during the GAA's Congress in Croke Park, is a member of the Silverbridge GAA club in County Armagh and served as club secretary at the time of his election.

Burns played inter-county Gaelic football with Armagh for 13 years, captaining the Orchard County to the Ulster Championship in 1999, their first provincial title in 17 years. 

He has served the GAA in numerous roles since retiring from inter-county football, serving as chair of the inaugural Players's Committee in 2000. 

He was also chair of the GAA's 125th Anniversary Committee in 2009 and served as Armagh's Central Council delegate. 

Burns was a member of the GAA’s Medical and Scientific Committee and Pitch Presentation Group and additionally served as manager of the Irish Women's International Rules team that defeated Australia in 2006. 

He is the first former inter-county player to be elected President of the GAA since former Kilkenny hurler Nicky Brennan's tenure between 2006-2009. 

Furthermore, he is the first official from a club in the six counties of Northern Ireland to be elected President since Fermanagh's Peter Quinn took office in 1991 and the first Armagh native to serve as GAA President since Alf Murray held the position between 1964 and 1967. 

Burns, a fluent Irish speaker, is passionate about the Irish language and has worked as a co-commentator for Irish-language broadcaster TG4's coverage of the GAA. 

He works as a secondary school teacher and is currently the principal of St Paul’s in Bessbrook, Armagh. 

Burns' term as GAA President will run until February 2027.