Fr. Sean Mc Manus, President of the Capitol Hill-based Irish National Caucus, has been chosen to serve on the World Peace Awarding Council (WPPAC). The Council consists of twelve international and interfaith members.

“This was totally unforeseen and unexpected,” explained the Irish-born priest. “I was really surprised to receive the invitation to serve from Dr. Han Min Su, Co-Founder and Executive Judge, who is based in South Korea. Naturally, I am deeply honored and humbly grateful. Doubly so, because my dear friend former Congressman Lester Wolff (D-NY) is the Chief Judge. And in 2011, another dear friend, former Congressman Ben Gilman (R-NY) was presented with the World Peace Prize. Both of these splendid Jewish-Americans did wonderful work for human rights, justice and peace in Ireland. I shall be eternally grateful to both.”

In its Mission Statement, the WPPAC states: “World Peace Prize is an initiative to promote world peace and inter-religious understanding. It is awarded periodically to individuals who have contributed to the causes of world peace by preventing regional conflicts or world war; by settling the disputes of political, diplomatic and economic matters; by developing new inventions to minimize threats and confusions within mankind…”

The World Peace Prize is a prestigious award presented by the World Peace Corps Mission, an international Evangelical missionary organization. It was established in 1989 by the late former Congressman Robert L. Leggett (D-NY) and Dr. Han Min Su.

Previous recipients of the Peace Prize include President Ronald Reagan; Yitzhak Rabin, former Prime Minister of Israel; Fidel Valdez Ramos, former President of the Philippines; and Gen. Yakubu Gowan, former President of the Republic of Nigeria.

The other Judges on the World Peace Prize Council are: Rev. Dr. Han Min Su, Christian, South Korea; Honorable Lester Wolff, Jewish, USA; Dr. Suzi Leggett, Catholic, USA; Dr. Carlito S. Puno, Christian, Philippines; Dr. Shiu Loon Kong, Confucian, China; Former Ambassador, Dr. Bhupatary M. Oza, Hindu, India; Former Ambassador, Dr. Asher Naim, Jewish, Israel; Former Ambassador, Dr. Mohamed A. Cholkamy, Muslim, Egypt; Dr. Epharaim Isaac, Jewish, USA; Honorable Peter Lewis, former Speaker of the South Australian House of Assembly, Christian, Australia; Former Navy Commander, De. Gennady P. Turmov, Russian Orthodox, Russia.