Manitoba will be the second Canadian province that accept the exchange of Irish driving licenses for Canadian ones.  An agreement has been signed between the Road Safety Authority (RSA) and the province allowing for the exchange, the Irish Times reports.

There is already such an arrangement in place between Ireland and Ontario.

Minister for Transport Paschal Donohoe said they hoped to bring the agreement with the Canadian province into operation “as soon as possible.”

Under EU law, Ireland operates an automatic exchange of driving licenses with other EU member states, with non-EU countries a bilateral arrangement can be reached, says Donohoe.

Driving license agreements are in place in a number of countries  and provinces, including Japan, South Africa, Victoria in Australia, Guernsey and Jersey in the Channel Islands, Switzerland, New Zealand, South Korea, Gibraltar, Taiwan and the Isle of Man.

Because Canada operates its driving license system on a provincial system, Ireland has to negotiate individual agreements with each province.

According to Donohoe, negotions with other Canadian provinces for a driving license exchange are ongoing