Ireland coach Declan Kidney has added new blood to his Six Nations squad ahead of Sunday’s opening fixture against Wales.

Munster wing sensation Simon Zebo has been joined in a 32 man senior squad by Dan Tuohy, Eoin O’Malley, Peter O’Mahony, Denis Hurley, Chris Henry, Rhys Ruddock, David Kearney and Brett Wilkinson.

Zebo, Kearney, brother of Rob, O’Malley, O’Mahony and Wilkinson are all uncapped.

Leinster captain Leo Cullen is missing as expected after he opted to undergo surgery on troublesome ankle injuries.

Kidney will name his team to play Wales after a training session on Wednesday morning.


Read more:

More Irish sports news from IrishCentral

‘Evil’ Irish lady steals $1 million from Archdiocese of New York

In new book Irish prostitute talks about her double life as middle class mother


Zebo and Tuohy impressed the coach when they played for the Irish Wolfhounds in the defeat to the English A team last Saturday but are unlikely to feature on Sunday.

Captain Brian O’Driscoll, David Wallace and Jerry Flannery are still long-term injury absentees from the Irish squad while the English based Geordan Murphy and Tony Buckley have not been included.
Ireland squad:

Forwards: R Best (Ulster), T Bowe (Ospreys), T Court (Ulster), S Cronin (Leinster), S Ferris (Ulster), C Healy (Leinster), J Heaslip (Leinster), C Henry (Ulster), S Jennings (Leinster), S O’Brien (Leinster), D O’Callaghan (Munster), P O’Connell (Munster), P O’Mahony (Munster), M Ross (Leinster), D Ryan (Munster), R Ruddock (Leinster), D Tuohy (Ulster), B Wilkinson (Connacht).

Backs: G D’Arcy (Leinster), K Earls (Munster), D Hurley (Munster), R Kearney (Leinster), D Kearney (Leinster), F McFadden (Leinster), C Murray (Munster), R O’Gara (Munster), E O’Malley (Leinster), E Reddan (Leinster), J Sexton (Leinster), A Trimble (Ulster), P Wallace (Ulster), S Zebo (Munster).