Derek McKenna’s Armagh side continued their waltz through the Intermediate division with as comprehensive a victory as there could possibly be at any level. Johnny McGeeney continued his brilliant form this year by grabbing 1-7 in a shortened encounter with his points from play, superb flicks and his goal (Armagh’s first) superbly executed. McKenna has his defense in excellent form also with Mike Hallassy again dominating the center.

It was 1-4 to zero after five minutes with Matt Keating stopping another goal bound effort three minutes later with a diving save. A stream of points followed, with Hamill, Tornsey, McGeeney again and Sean McKeown all hitting the mark. Chris Neville had Armagh’s second goal to complete that portion of the onslaught.

Long Island finally had a point from Larry McEntee with 20 minutes gone. He was trying hard to have an imprint on the encounter, but the winners closed the half with a further 2-3 with Cox and Morgan getting the majors.

To sum up the second half, Armagh took the foot off the gas and coasted to victory. The form of McDermott, McKeown, Hallassy, Morgan and the McGeeneys, will leave McKenna, McAlister and Yore with the enviable task of getting ready for the final. They start as favorites again, such is the talent.

Armagh: 1 Donal Hearty, 2 Darren McDermott, 3 Patsy Martin, 4 Kieran McCooey, 5 Sean McKeown (0-1), 6 Michael Hallassey, 7 Daniel Nugent, 8 Kevin McGeeney, 9 Johnny McGeeney (1-7), 10 Chris Neville (1-1), 11 Stephen Malone, 12 Gerry Hamill (0-2), 13 Richie Morgan (1-1), 14 Barry Tornsey (0-1), 15 Peter Hatzer (0-1). Subs: Kenny Cox (1-0), Stuart Stokes (0-1), Fred Hearty (0-1).

Long Island: 1 Matt Keating, 2 Cillian Egan, 3 Patrick Kerr, 4 Don McKeown, 5 Danny Breen, 6 Liam Meehan, 7 Dan Shanahan, 8 Jeff Farrell, 9 Liam McDonald, 10 Ryan Kerr, 11 Larry McEntee (0-2), 12 Tom Boyle, 13 Connor Byrne, 14 James Stones, 15 Sean Moore.

Man of the match: Johnny McGeeney (Armagh).

Referee: John Fitzpatrick.