The David O. Russell directed quirky romance received nods for its stars Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence in the Best Male and Female Lead categories, along with nominations for Best Director and Best Screenplay at the announcement at the W Hotel Hollywood on Tuesday.

It will compete against ‘Moonrise Kingdom’ – which also received five nominations - ‘Beasts of the Southern Wild’, ‘Bernie’ and ‘Keep the Lights On’ in the Best Feature category.

Matthew McConaughey received two nominations, Best Male Lead for ‘Killer Joe’ where he will compete against Bradley, Jack Black for ‘Bernie’, John Hawkes in ‘The Sessions’, Thure Lindhardt for ‘Keep The Lights On’ and ‘Four’s Wendell Pierce, and he has been nominated for Best Supporting Male for ‘Magic Mike’.

Linda Cardellini has been nominated for Best Female Lead for ‘Return’ along with Emayatzy Corinealdi for ‘Middle of Nowhere’, Quvenzhané Wallis in ‘Beasts of the Southern Wild’, Mary Elizabeth Winstead from ‘Smashed’ and Jennifer in ‘Silver Linings Playbook’.

Zoe Saldana and Anna Kendrick announced the nominees and Anna was thrilled that her movie ‘End Of Watch’ received nominations in two categories; Michael Pena for Best Supporting Male and Roman Vasyanov for Best Cinematography.

She tweeted: “Congratulations to all the Spirit Award nominees! Especially to Michael and Roman for End Of Watch! #Bias (sic).”

The Spirit Awards will be handed out at an afternoon ceremony in Santa Monica, California, on February 23, 2013.

Members of Film Independent, including filmmakers and movie fans, are eligible to vote on the winners at

Film Independent Spirit Awards 2013 nominees

Best Feature
‘Beasts of the Southern Wild’
‘Keep the Lights On’
‘Moonrise Kingdom’
‘Silver Linings Playbook’

Best Director
Wes Anderson, ‘Moonrise Kingdom’
Julia Loktev, ‘The Loneliest Planet’
David O. Russell, ‘Silver Linings Playbook’
Ira Sachs, ‘Keep the Lights On’
Benh Zeitlin, ‘Beasts of the Southern Wild’

Best Screenplay

Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola, ‘Moonrise Kingdom’
Zoe Kazan, ‘Ruby Sparks
Martin McDonagh, ‘Seven Psychopaths’
David O. Russell, ‘Silver Linings Playbook’
Ira Sachs, ‘Keep the Lights On’

Best Female Lead
Linda Cardellini, ‘Return’
Emayatzy Corinealdi, ‘Middle of Nowhere’
Jennifer Lawrence, ‘Silver Linings Playbook’
Quvenzhané Wallis, ‘Beasts of the Southern Wild’
Mary Elizabeth Winstead, ‘Smashed’

Best Male Lead

Jack Black, ‘Bernie’
Bradley Cooper, ‘Silver Linings Playbook’
John Hawkes, ‘The Sessions’
Thure Lindhardt, ‘Keep the Lights On’
Matthew McConaughey, ‘Killer Joe’
Wendell Pierce, ‘Four’

Best Supporting Female

Rosemarie DeWitt, ‘Your Sister's Sister’
Ann Dowd, ‘Compliance’
Helen Hunt, ‘The Sessions’
Brit Marling, ‘Sound of My Voice’
Lorraine Toussaint, ‘Middle of Nowhere’

Best Supporting Male

Matthew McConaughey, ‘Magic Mike’
David Oyelowo, ‘Middle of Nowhere’
Michael Pena, ‘End of Watch’
Sam Rockwell, ‘Seven Psychopaths’
Bruce Willis, ‘Moonrise Kingdom’

Best First Feature

‘Fill the Void’
‘Gimme the Loot’
‘Safety Not Guaranteed’
‘Sound of My Voice’
‘The Perks of Being a Wallflower’

Best First Screenplay
Rama Burshtein, ‘Fill the Void’
Derek Connolly, ‘Safety Not Guaranteed’
Christopher Ford, ‘Robot & Fran’
Rashida Jones and Will McCormack, ‘Celeste and Jesse Forever’
Jonathan Lisecki, ‘Gayby’

John Cassavetes Award (for feature made for under $500,000)
‘Breakfast with Curtis’
‘Middle of Nowhere’
‘Mosquita y Mari’
‘The Color Wheel’

Best Cinematography
Yoni Brook, ‘Valley of Saints’
Lol Crawley, ‘Here’
Ben Richardson, ‘Beasts of the Southern Wild’
Roman Vasyanov, ‘End of Watch’
Robert Yeoman, ‘Moonrise Kingdom’

Best Documentary

‘How to Survive a Plague’
‘Marina Abramovi?: The Artist is Present’
‘The Central Park Five’
‘The Invisible War’
‘The Waiting Room’

Best International Film
‘Amour’ (France)
‘Once Upon A Time in Anatolia’ (Turkey)
‘Rust and Bone’ (France/Belgium)
‘Sister’ (Switzerland)
‘War Witch’ (Democratic Republic of Congo)

16th Annual Piaget Producers Award
‘Nobody Walks’
‘Prince Avalanche’
‘Stones in the Sun’

19th Annual Someone to Watch Award

‘Gimme the Loot’
‘Electrick Children’

Stella Artois Truer Than Fiction Award
‘The Waiting Room’
‘Only the Young’

Robert Altman Award